Understanding True Leadership: The Coach Carter Way

Rahul Mishra
Business & Beyond @Hevo
3 min readAug 1, 2022

“Starting today, you will play like winners, act like winners, and most importantly, you will be winners.” ~Coach Ken Carter

I still remember how I felt when I watched the movie “Coach Carter” (watch it if you haven’t!) I felt a surge of passion and energy to do something remarkable.

The movie is about a basketball coach who helps a group of teenagers transform their lives through the game. I was impressed with what Coach Carter did, not just in terms of basketball but on a personal level as well. I was wondering what made him so effective and was also intrigued by the way he would handle difficult situations and turn them around.

Who is Coach Carter?

He’s a guy who is a master of his art and is deeply invested in his teammates’ success. When you meet someone who is a master of their art, there is a lot to learn from them, so you automatically look up to them. Imagine a veteran also being invested in their teammates’ success — the combination can be a gamechanger for a mentee who is willing to learn. This sort of opportunity and environment can stir up a storm of inspiration that may be dormant in people.

The most incredible thing about building teams is meeting people. Every once in a while, you meet a true leader, and the experience is always life-changing. Every leader leads differently, but the best ones are deeply invested in their teammates’ individual success. There is a large pool of leaders who can deliver results, coach, and strategize really well. However, you can immediately recognize when someone is genuinely interested in helping people succeed at their job and in life. This person is ecstatic when you do well and will back you whenever you need it.

It doesn’t matter if a true leader is designated as a leader or as an individual contributor. They will find a way to ensure that the team is winning and teammates are doing well. They can recognize the good and the bad and they will try to find solutions to mend the gaps. Sometimes the solutions will work, sometimes they will not; what matters is that leaders care about solving problems even if they are not directly involved. They would listen to others, make them think and they will lead them to answers. Answers that can help them turn things around.

How are they able to do it?

Let’s rewind: earlier this year, I was planning a new Campus Engagement program. It was uncharted territory for me and my team, and I was apprehensive about whether it would work out. However, my teammates (Sasank and Sarah) had a fair idea of how we could start. They connected with me to understand what I was trying to do. They made me ask the most critical question “How would the talent pool feel about the program?” This one question pushed me in the right direction. It helped me understand the right metrics to track, the right campuses to connect with, and the right way of communicating with them to ensure that we were adding value. Then they helped me execute the project by rallying the team around us and ensuring that I was able to do what I was aiming for.

The crucial bit is — my teammates were not obligated to participate, but they chose to do so because my success and learning mattered to them. The result? An engaged team that is willing to work together and is invested in each other’s success.

This is just one of the many stories that I come across on a daily basis. People across teams are helping each other grow, this, in turn, is helping themselves become better leaders.

I’m happy to connect with you and learn your thoughts on Leadership. Always up for interesting conversations and coffee!

Hit me up on Linkedin! — https://www.linkedin.com/in/iamrahulmishra/

--

--