Book Recommendations with Brent Johnson

Founder & President of Tryazon, LLC

Dustin B Flanary
Insights from Great Books!
5 min readApr 3, 2018

--

  • Please name the 5 books that have most influenced you as an entrepreneur and why did you name each of these books? (Please explain in detail)

Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap…and Others Don’t (by Jim Collins)

Click here to see on Amazon

With Jim Collins Good to Great, I have been intrigued with the studies and insights that propel a good company to a great one.

A few of the takeaways that I have tried to apply are working on a leadership style that emphasizes the good of the company and its employees instead of personal ego or successes. A good leader listens to those around them and takes time to consider their feedback when it comes to strategy and the way things are done. They are not afraid to address issues that may be limiting progress.

Through this book, I have also paid close attention to getting the right people on the bus, the kind that are self-motivated and directed. I have found that this is crucial with the remote arrangements we have setup.

Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High (by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan, & Al Switzler)

Click here to view in Amazon

Crucial Conversations has been a great reminder of how important communication is — given my role as a company president — and also with the interactions of other brand partners. A willingness to truly listen, be open to changing, and resolving issues in calm, measured ways have been principles that have helped me develop stronger connections and overcome obstacles.

As you can imagine, there are a variety of circumstances where the stakes are high and with the high expectations we have as a company, it is vital to know how to overcome challenges in responsible ways.

Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die (by Chip Heath & Dan Heath)

Click here to view in Amazon

Principles I have learned in Made to Stick have really helped me refine the messaging of our service as we promote to our member participants and brand partners. Through this book and with experience, I have learned that it is important to be concise and simple, but focus on those ideas that really resonate and have relevance.

Rich Dad Poor Dad (by Robert T. Kiyosaki)

Click here to view in Amazon

Rich Dad, Poor Dad was a recommended book that I read prior to becoming an entrepreneur, but it’s principles have helped me set a foundation for my mindset and willingness to take chances. I love the mentions and illustrated examples about how true winners are not afraid of losing. Calculated risks and the exploring of different business models have paid off for us.

The Scriptures (Standard Works of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)

Click here to see purchasing page

The scriptures, including the Bible and Book of Mormon, have truly been the most important books that have guided me in my current role. As I read, I am inspired by examples of those that have gone before and the teachings of the Savior.

There were key instances in the beginning of this journey [as an entrepreneur] where I was very close to giving up, but only through God’s strength, trusting in Him, and experiencing His tender mercies have I been able to persevere. As I try to better my life spiritually, there are far-reaching impacts that certainly have and do affect my role at work.

  • Do you believe prioritizing time to read books or listen to audio-books helps you and your business? Why or why not?

I do. I feel like learning is an important part of anything we are involved in. If we think we know it all, then we become stagnant and much less likely to grow and innovate. Learning and a consistent desire to improve inspire the mind and helps us make continual progress.

  • How do you make time to do so (or do you)? When do you read/listen to books?

I try to put time aside early in the mornings to read, while my mind is clear with less distractions. On occasion, I will pull open a book on an open evening after the kids are in bed. I have also found that when traveling, it’s a great time to read and reflect.

  • Is there anything else we can do to help promote your business?

Sharing about Tryazon to friends and family on social media is always helpful!

If you’d like to learn more about Tryazon, check out the following:

--

--

Dustin B Flanary
Insights from Great Books!

Book reviewer. Writer of personal thoughts. Business, tech, politics, religion and where they meet.