Clear Your Business Change Head. Eat Business Change Fish.

Jeff Yablon
Business Change and Business Process
2 min readMay 21, 2010

A couple of days ago, while talking about about planning and genuine, substantive business change, I told you about Dan Barber. Dan’s the chef/owner of Blue Hill Farm in Westchester County NY, where for a mere $650 or so you and a friend can have dinner.

If you haven’t read that post, I encourage you to do so now, and most important, watch the video of Dan talking about fish.

Fish could be your biggest business change. Ever.

My mind was wandering this morning, and I skipped back to something Dilbert creator Scott Adams wrote almost a year ago. Scott’s a very smart guy, and I’ve mentioned him here several times. Last June, he shared his thoughts on several earthly crises with a common theme: think better, act better, do better.

When Dan Barber talks about the idea of feeding chicken to farmed fish, my head just about explodes. He’s against the practice, of course. And let’s be honest; if the price of truly fresh fish becomes $650 for dinner for two there aren’t can’t be very many buyers.

But you can make change that matters to you and to your business. And it starts with thought.

I’m not going to get all touchy-feely here. Aside from being the polar opposite of my regular smash-you-over-the-head style, that would be a business change in direct conflict with some of the other things I’ve said recently about people like Chris Brogan and Gary Vaynerchuk. But I will say this:

When your mind wanders, take the trip.

It’s Friday. I’ve had a long week. I’m tired. My mind is wandering but I need to stay productive. I could beat myself up, but that won’t work. But I can think about fish, business change, and Dan Barber. And I can tell you about all those things and why it’s OK.

Go eat some fish. It’s good for you. And if you eat at Dan Barber’s Blue Hill Farm, it’s business change, too.

--

--