9 habits that will change your life

Karimova Elmira
4 min readDec 6, 2015

--

When I read David Allen’s book and all his advices I recognized that I want to know more about all of this and I want to improve myself. And I found in different sources on different themes some advices. I chose some good actions to do. After I did some of them I recognized that doing it one time isn’t enough, isn’t as effective as they could be. And I started to do them more often. So, that’s how they became habits.

And now I want to present you 9habits I have after reading “Getting Things Done” and related sources:

  1. Do “to do lists”. Such lists will help your brain to remember everything and it helps you to think about really important things.

2. Do a “cash book”. Simple table with incomes and outcomes will help you to understand where you spend all your money, and may be you will be able to reject from some mere things and save money.

3. Read books at least 10 minutes a day. They help you to know new things, have new experiences and improve your language skills, especially it’s good when you learn new languages. I really like reading books. And I actually spend more than 10 minutes a day for it. I read it after I have done all my work for a day and already went to sleep. And also it’s a good habit if you have insomnia. Because you organism will know that when you start reading it should be prepared to sleep.

4. Meditation. I don’t have enough time and opportunities to go to the mountaines everyday and meditate. But you can just clean your mind and sit with a relaxing song, or take a bath with a relaxing song and candles.

5. Stand up from the computer and do some exercises every 30 minutes. It will help you to be healthy with unhealthy lifestyle. Your eyes and body need a rest. Here are exercises that I use.

6. One day a week don’t use any gadgets. It’s an awesome experiment. When you don’t use any technologies you have a lot of time for yourself, your relatives, your friends and your things.

7. Do copies of all important documents in your computer. While I did my project I had a problem with my computer and loss all the researches I had there and all other important documents. After that I started to do copies of everything in my computer.

8. Don’t carry with you all your credit cards and all your money. I left all my documents and credit cards to my grandmother and I withdraw only a few amount of money, often 2000–5000tenge. And I don’t take money before these ones ended.

9. Have a Diary or a blog. It helps you to remember all important things. I have a Medium blog.)

--

--