Getting control of my life!

Katarina Yusufova
Business Communications
4 min readNov 3, 2015

Hello everyone!

It’s been a while I didn’t write in my blog so one more time I understood that there is nothing better for me than #gettingthingsdone book! Just I could write down a post and forget to publish it, living in calm and peaceful world with no worrying that my blog misses me for such a time! So there is another “Chapter” from my book-of-life, that I am writing to be the best version of myself! Keep on reading!:)

The main thing that I have got from the second part of “The art of getting things done” is that no matter how complicated or easy, exciting or boring the process/task is, it consists of 5 core stages:

“…We (1) collect things that command our attention; (2) process what they mean and what to do about them; and (3) organize the results, which we (4) review as options for what we choose to (5) do.”

What I have found funniest, is that the majority of people approximately know what they have to do and know these 5 stages, but due to the human’s impatience, they are trying to do everything at once, and, how you guessed, in the most of cases we fail! Yes, yes, and after this fail we stop trying to do all this stuff, prefer storing it in our minds for days, weeks, years, until we don’t have this FULL list of THINGS TO DO.

Have a look on a diagram that I attached! Yes! We have found a clue! That is one of the most important things to learn from this book(I guess : )) The hardest process is to understand how to work with it, buut I am sure you can be as smart as I am ( shy me) and deal with it!

Here there are some few key definitions that could help you(please, find more reading the book because it is a whooole huge process I can describe in two words)):

“…To manage actionable things, you will need a list of projects, storage or files for project plans and materials, a calendar, a list of reminders of next actions, and a list of reminders of things you’re waiting for.

I define a project as any desired result that requires more than one action step. This means that some rather small things that you might not normally call projects are going to be on your “Projects” list. As the Workflow Diagram makes clear, the next-action decision is central. That action needs to be the next physical, visible behavior, without exception, on every open loop. Reminders of actions you need to take fall into two categories: those about things that have to happen on a specific day or time, and those about things that just need to get done as soon as possible. Your calendar handles the first type of reminder. Three things go on your calendar:

• time-specific actions; • day-specific actions; and • day-specific information.

The calendar is also the place to keep track of things you want to know about on specific days — not necessarily actions you’ll have to take but rather information that may be useful on a certain date…”

To say honestly( I am saying it just because I know my blog is not graded according to my personal opinion on some approaches) , I don’t find this way pretty easy and simple, but as far as I am concerned, we always have to try something new in order to improve ourselves and not to be behind the times, so I decided to implement this method in a real life and to see does it really works on me?

I have already had a review on my experiment that I am going to show you in a few days , so keep on reading me guys!

Thank you all!

P.S. I have found a pretty video that is kind off-topic, but I think that is related to the “time management” stuff, so I advice you to watch it!

Xoxo, Katarina

--

--

Katarina Yusufova
Business Communications

18 years old KBTU student🎓from Almaty🍎,Kazakhstan🇰🇿