Why do people lie?

Balapanov (:
2 min readDec 4, 2015

--

For me, it isn’t easy to trust people. When told a lie I automatically lose my trust for someone. No one is perfect; everyone lies once in a while, but what is the point of it?

I have been interested in learning more about why people lie. I ask myself this question often, but I never thought about doing research. “Lying is usually the best approach for protecting privacy and ourselves.” People often lie because they don’t feel comfortable about sharing information.” I have a friend who doesn’t trust anyone at all, and lies to keep things private.

Certain people lie because of their lack of ability to do something, or have something. For example: I had an old friend lied about everything. She lied just to fit in, and I never understood why. I think lying is the combination of being unable to face the results of honesty, and the lack of proper values. Because one is unable to face the results of honesty, they usually lie to their significant other in their relationship.

In my opinion, no matter what the reason is you still shouldn’t lie. If you don’t feel comfortable sharing certain information@, you should simply tell them that you aren’t comfortable.There are many reasons about why people lie. Kids lie to stay out of trouble, and teens lie to get their way. Adults lie for many reasons, and maybe because of this they influence kids around them to do so.

--

--