Seven roles that can help you build your Business Operations career

Honey Patel
Business Operations & Go-to-Market
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

During an interview (for a job I did get), I was told “the reason I love your background is because you are a jack of all trades… you have done it all”. This really resonated with me because I made career choices to help me gain experience in all aspects of a business rather than becoming an expert in one field such as Sales Operations.

At first, I thought ‘trying everything’ was a short coming because I wasn’t become a subject matter expert in one specific thing. I realized few years into my career that I actually was becoming a subject matter expert in a very unique way. Only after trying and fitting my career choices together, I realized I was a Business Operations expert and the beauty in that is:

  • You touch every function to help build synergies, processes, communications lines across the board
  • You get to break down silos to build a more transparent and effective organization
  • You are working with people at every level in the organization and you pull together the little details together to help inform the big picture

Here are seven roles that can lead to becoming a Business Operations professional:

  1. Sales & Marketing Operations
  2. Product, Engineering, and Design Operations
  3. General Operations and Analysis
  4. Strategy & Planning
  5. Go-to-market
  6. Strategic Finance and Corporate Development
  7. Internal Communications

In my experience, after doing three to five of roles was when my career journey converged into Business Operations.

Stay tuned for an update on specifics on these roles

--

--