MozCon Local 2017 FTW

Attending MozCon Local 2017

Justin Lewis
Business Optimizer
Published in
2 min readFeb 25, 2017

--

Tomorrow Matthew Herich and I will be driving up to Seattle, WA where he’ll be visiting his family and I’ll be attending MozCon Local 2017. I’m very excited because this is the first time I’m attending an event in an industry that I’ve been apart of since 2010.

Knowing that I’ll be able to connect with other like minds and be in attendance of an event hosted by Britney Muller and Rand Fishkin (Moz) has me over the moon.

I look forward to seeing Darren Shaw’s (Whitespark) keynote both his and Aaron Weiche’s (Get Five Stars) presentations.

I’ve not really been a follower of many large companies in my industry, instead I’ve found inspiration in talks from Jason Fried (Basecamp), DHH (Basecamp & Ruby on Rails), and Angela Duckworth (Grit), so this is a big shift for me.

Projects I’m Working On

My hope is that this event can help inspire me to push further into the 3 primary projects I have been planning out.

  • Business Optimizer, a company founded by Matthew Herich and I to improve businesses online presense.
  • Review Handout, an idea I had developed to a very small extreme a few years ago, and recently thought out further with Matthew Herich, which is a platform for businesses to request reviews from their customers through multiple networks.
  • AI Built Websites, this one is something we’re working towards regularly by developing websites manually at the moment. But given our understanding of how local businesses operate and where the search engines are headed I feel that AI is going to dominate many parts of the industry very quickly and I want to be involved.

Anyhow, I figured I’d write this up to share my thoughts prior to going to MozCon Local 2017 whilst tagging some of the people that have inspired me throughout the years.

P.S. Wish Dr. Peter J. Meyers could be there, hopefully I’ll see him at MozCon.

--

--

Justin Lewis
Business Optimizer

Justin Lewis is a tech savvy entrepreneur, developer, vlogger, and co-founder of the company Business Optimizer. https://justinlewisweb.com/