Why I Choose to Work at Starbucks Instead of an Office

Justin Lewis
Business Optimizer
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2017

I get asked the question “Why do you work at Starbucks and not an office” on a regular basis. And my response is typically, “I love the coffee and the atmosphere”. To go more in depth, there are a few reasons I prefer Starbucks over an office.

Justin Lewis of Business Optimizer at Starbucks

Tried It, Didn’t Enjoy It

First and foremost, I already went the office route. About 4 years ago I had an office in Virginia, thinking it was the path I was meant to go. Within 3 months of working from the office I started feeling like a robotic zombie. That’s really the only way I can describe it. It wasn’t for me.

Working from Starbucks allows me to live a remote lifestyle without the confines of office walls.

Starbucks Brings People Together, Literally

In the past 4 years since I started working from Starbucks to develop and consult with companies I’ve found that it’s an amazing environment to find brilliant talent. For example I met Matt Herich, Philip Lilly, James Bonds and many of our clients in the comfort of my seat. I even met the love of my life, Joelle Phillips, at Starbucks in 2014 and we’re expecting our first child in February of 2018!

The Baristas LOVE Their Jobs

How could I say it any other way.. Starbucks is just awesome. I ask people in all types of careers throughout the day if they like their jobs. Typically most responses from people are something like “I hate the job, but love the money” or “It’s a job, I don’t hate it but I don’t love it”. Baristas at Starbucks are a different breed all together, I’ve spoken with more than 60 throughout the last 4 years (we travel a lot) and almost every Barista I’ve met says something along the lines of “I love the customers!” or “The company really cares about us” or the oh so simple “It’s cool”.

It’s Wonderful for Travelers

Since 2015 Joelle Phillips and I have moved around quite a bit. In fact, we had an RV and traveled from Virginia to California. Thankfully, when we were in spotty locations for our hotspots or didn’t have internet, Starbucks was almost always right around the corner. Beyond that, they support Joelle’s traveling lifestyle and she’s been able to transfer from Virginia to California to Oregon and now to Florida.

P.S. If you don’t feel comfortable working at Starbucks due to security reasons I’d suggest getting setup with a VPN like Private Internet Access and keeping your computer up to date with the lastest security updates.

--

--

Justin Lewis
Business Optimizer

Justin Lewis is a tech savvy entrepreneur, developer, vlogger, and co-founder of the company Business Optimizer. https://justinlewisweb.com/