A challenge for the Irish Tech Community

Lately, there’s been lots of talk about not enough women in STEM; The conversation is making strides but talk is cheap. One person I know who’s doing something about it, is my friend Jean McDonald. Jean runs App Camp for Girls. It’s a movement to encourage young girls to write code and build iPhone Apps.

Right now, they are running an Indiegogo campaign to bring their movement to more locations and I think the vibrant Irish Tech Community can help. Details of the campaign are at https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/app-camp-for-girls-3-0/x/11180953#/story

I want to see individuals get behind it. It’s easy for a company to make a donation, and write it off as a charitable donation but what about employees? As individuals, we care about this passionately, so shouldn’t we put our money where our mouth is ?

Here’s what we’re doing at Tapadoo. Team members are making their own contributions, and as a company, we’re going to match our staff’s contributions.

If you’re running a tech company in Ireland: I’m challenging you to do the same.

I’d love to see a hashtag of Irish tech companies getting behind App Camp for Girls. #ITC4AppCamp works for me. As I write this, there’s only 6 days left.

Go!

--

--