An Open Letter to You: Let’s Create & Disrupt

Over the past two years I’ve been working for a great company that aligned with my career goals of working in the music industry. I had incredible mentors, developed great relationships, learned the ins and outs of the industry, and experienced things I wouldn’t have imagined.

Yesterday, I put my two weeks notice into my boss without having my next job lined up.

My parents taught me the importance of being financially independent at an early age as I’ve never been unemployed since getting my first job at age 15. This is the first time that I truly have no idea where the next chapter of my career will take me. Rather than fearing the unknown, I feel exhilarated and enlivened.

Unlike most people quitting their jobs, my decision wasn’t based on any sort of unhappiness with the company. Rather, I’ve decided to push myself out of my comfort zone and put everything I have towards the ideals that brought me to the music industry.

The music industry is a deranged beast that exploits artists for financial gain, and then discards them. I knew this going into the business, but I was ignorant to the politics and greed until I experienced it. Allow me to nerd-out with an analogy — I was recently watching an episode of Game of Thrones (this isn’t really a spoiler so don’t fret) and Daenerys Targaryen made a statement that parallels to the music industry cycle:

Daenerys Targaryen: “Lannister, Targaryen, Baratheon, Stark, Tyrell, they’re all just spokes on a wheel. This one’s on top, then that one’s on top and on and on it spins crushing those on the ground.”
Tyrion Lannister: “It’s a beautiful dream, stopping the wheel. You’re not the first person who’s ever dreamt it.”
Daenerys Targaryen: “I’m not going to stop the wheel, I’m going to break the wheel.”

I feel you Daenerys. I know I’m not the first person to try to stop or break “the wheel”, but I’ll die before I give up.

The reason I’m so passionate about music is because it’s infinite and timeless. I’m building a career in the music industry because I want to help connect people to music that I believe is special. What most people see as a grim industry, I see as an opportunity for innovation.

For the next month or so, I’m going to take time to reflect and design my next move. I’m going to spend most of my time writing about music as I’ve recently gotten back into it (shout-out to Pigeons & Planes) and plan to push myself to grow as a writer.

If you’re like my soulmate Daenerys Targaryen and myself, connect with me — let’s break the wheel.

--

--