Be a Square Peg

If I don’t run, I spin. This morning was a spin morning, as I’ve been having Achilles issues lately, preventing me from running

Anyway, as I was doing my best Lance Armstrong impression (he’s the only cyclist I really know of), a killer song came on:

Square Pegs by Kelsea Ballerini

So, there I was pedaling it out to a 2o something country pop star, bobbing my head to the beat, looking like a man on a mission. It was quite a sight, as I’m sure the lady on the bike next to me could attest to.

The lyrics of the chorus really stuck with me, though:

You can choose if you’re bad, if you’re good
If you’re left or right, speaking your heart or speaking your mind
You can be what they say you can be, a cliche
You can tear up the box and throw it away
Everybody gotta be themselves
Everybody gotta dream out loud
Everybody gotta be themselves
Square pegs make the world go ‘round

How about that?

Every now and then, we all need a reminder to be ourselves. To not conform. To blaze our own path.

It’s up to us, the square pegs, to make a difference. To bring about change. To invent. To make the world go round.

If this article made you smile, think, or dance around like you just don’t care, it would mean the world to me if you hit the recommend button!

I’m an entrepreneur and marketer. You can find me at iamcjadams.com.

--

--

C.J. Adams
Business Daily: Startups, Business Development, Management

Real Estate Agent at Scenic Sotheby’s International Realty | Collector of Things that Go Tick Tock | Runner of Too Many Miles cjadams.scenicsir.com