Patience is the hardest virtue

Krystopher “Dash” Scott
But First, Coffee
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2016

I have tried to start two different businesses. The first business was a sneaker boutique, which I attempted to start during the economic recession (I have had worse ideas). I was mildly successful, but it was actually my crash course in branding and social media marketing. Social media was still in the early stages, and the first outlet I used was blogger back in 2008.

One thing I have noticed about myself is that as time progresses what type of business I want evolves. Let me expound, I wanted a sneaker boutique because I loved sneakers and the culture behind it. As things started to grow and develop I learned I actually loved the marketing aspect behind running a company.

I started to create marketing campaigns that would catch the attention and eye of the consumer. The more I created the more I realized where my true passion lied.

In the words of Christopher “Biggie Smalls” Wallace, “Never make moves unless your heart is in it.”

So in 2013 I stopped working on Acquired Sole and shut down all operations to it, and begin to develop my own digital marketing and media company. At that time digital marketing was in its early stages as well and the use of social media was changing rapidly. More and more “branding” companies started to pop up and I needed to see how a marketing company was ran. I worked for a company that showed me everything NOT to do when running a marketing company.

After working for that company I had the opportunity to work for a software development company which was a great experience. They showed me the proper way to run a day to day operation and showed me patience in growing my clientele.

Currently I have 5 clients. These 5 clients are a great foundation for my company, and seeing as how I’m just starting out it gives me the room to work on my personal products and not just client projects. Often times we try to become big in a short period of time instead of growing gracefully which requires patience. Another benefit of the 5 clients that I have now is that it has created sustainability for my company while still allowing for future growth. My companies motto is “Authenticity Break Records”. I believe in being authentic in any aspect of life is the greatest way to grow and succeed.

--

--