Introduction

Justin Thor Simenson
But when it rains…
2 min readNov 16, 2015

Welcome. If you have been following me you already know of ‘But when it rains…’ because I wrote a post about it and Vantage published it on their page. It was a work in progress then and talked about how I was sharing my thoughts along with my photographs. If you are unfamiliar, here it is:

Since that post ran I shot more photographs, posted more thoughts to Instagram, and started to think of an output for the project. My first thoughts were to a zine or a book since I love print. But when I got my 4"x6" test prints in for sequencing I began to feel disenchanted with them.

I quickly realized that feeling was because there was no longer going to be dialog between me and the viewers. And that is what I liked most about the project from the beginning. The conversation I was having with people and their internal conversation is really important. I don't want to talk at people and show them only my side.

It is our community and is our responsibility to find the path forward. We can only do that together. So I invite you to follow along, respond, interact (with a highlight and note), share, and think. I am in Albuquerque, New Mexico and I am a photographer so I photograph. If you are in another city/town/region feel free to reach out and join this conversation and bring your community to the table. Your contribution can be words, drawings, quotes, calculations, anything.

If you are interested in becoming a contributor just respond below and I will add you to the publication.

Albuquerque, New Mexico. Summer 2015.

--

--

Justin Thor Simenson
But when it rains…

A husband, father, son, civil designer, photographer, and writer. Living in Albuquerque, New Mexico.