Get Bored More

Jack Butcher
butcherpaper
Published in
1 min readFeb 11, 2019

In trying to articulate the common denominators in things I have failed at, here’s one of my favorites:

Getting bored before anyone else gets interested.

It happens right about when I realize the gap between what I thought was going to happen and what actually happens becomes tangible.

Tangible enough for me to understand how much time and effort it is actually going to take to build [insert idea/pursuit] into what was (until very recently) the best idea of all time.

Despite having had this experience over and over again, it still takes conscious effort to preempt the inevitable reality check that will almost always follow explosions of inspiration (if it’s anything worth doing).

Here’s to cultivating a higher tolerance for boredom.

--

--