“Einstein” coming in for a landing. Photo ©Erika Burkhalter. Captured with a Nikon z7II and the new Nikon 100–400mm f/4.5–5.6 VR S lens.

Photography, Nature, Hummingbirds

Coming In for a Landing

Einstein, the hummingbird, at my fountain. Zooming in this little jewel with my new Nikon 100–400mm (ƒ4–5.6) VR S lens

Butterfly Dreams
Published in
5 min readMar 3, 2022

--

I hear those little screeches and hollers all day long as “Einstein” and “Big Red” battle for dominance at my backyard fountain. Fortunately, Big Red tends to like to patrol the right side of the garden, from the orange tree to the top tier of the fountain, while Einstein likes to hang out near the camelia bush on the left hand side of the yard.

I recently purchased the brand new Nikon 100–400mm f/4.5–5.6 VR S lens and I’ve been testing it out on some of my favorite subjects — my backyard birds.

“Looks like the coast is clear.” Photo ©Erika Burkhalter

Hummingbirds are particularly tricky to photograph because they move so incredibly fast. Half the time, I’ll think I have my camera focused on one of those little flashing jewels, but by the time I press the shutter release, I’ve taken a photo of empty air.

Hummingbirds’ wings rotate in a figure-eight pattern between ten and eighty times per second during flight. But, during courtship dives

--

--

Butterfly Dreams

Photographer, yogi, cat-mom, lover of travel and nature, spreading amazement for Mother Earth, one photo, poem or story at a time. (MA Yoga, MS Neuropsychology)