Sunset in Laguna Beach. Shot in an iPhone 13 ProMax. Photo ©Erika Burkhalter.

Photography, Cats, Nature and Life

Sunset in Laguna Beach, the New iPhone 13 Pro Max, Lounging Cats, Lightroom Glitches, Dahlias, and a Praying Mantis

A Week in Photos

Butterfly Dreams
Published in
6 min readOct 23, 2021

--

“Sorry you have to drive so far,” I said to the Uber driver, who was dropping us off at a friend’s house in Laguna Beach. “But maybe you’ll get a good sunset.”

We knew that our friend had inherited this house from his dad, who bought it for $45,000 in the 1960’s. Our friend had grown up in it and was now raising his own kids in it. What we did not know was that it was in “Top of the World,” an area of Laguna Beach in which you aren’t quite sure that you are still on solid land — it looks as if you are viewing the coastline beneath you from the vantage of an airplane. Let’s just say that the little beach shack from the 60’s is worth a lot more than $45,000 today. And I think that the driver probably enjoyed the sunset.

Our friend and his girlfriend poured us glasses of champagne and we set up for cocktail (and photography) hour on the balcony. I took oodles of photos with my Nikon, but I’m only sharing my iPhone photo here, partly because I got the new iPhone 13 ProMax and I wanted to test it out, but also because I am in the midst of a nightmare called Lightroom Classic right now.

--

--

Butterfly Dreams

Photographer, yogi, cat-mom, lover of travel and nature, spreading amazement for Mother Earth, one photo, poem or story at a time. (MA Yoga, MS Neuropsychology)