‘The Street As Platform 2050’, as published in Architectural Design journal ‘2050: Designing Our Tomorrow’, Chris Luebkeman (ed.), July 2015 (Wiley). The images accompanying the article were from the ‘Museum of the Future 2015' exhibition at the 2015 Government Summit, commissioned by United Arab Emirates, designed and conceived by UAE Prime Minister’s Office, Tellart, Future Cities Catapult et al. (I led the Catapult team for the project.)

The Street as Platform 2050

How Digital Dynamics Shape the Physical City

Dan Hill
But what was the question?
27 min readMay 24, 2016

--

The way the street feels may soon be defined by what cannot be seen with the naked eye.

So began an essay I wrote in 2007 called ‘The Street As Platform’, concerning the then-emerging ideas of urban informatics, Internet of Things, and the smart city. It used a depiction of a near-future city street as a platform for a wider discussion around the possibilities and pitfalls of urban data.

In 2014, I was asked to write an update of the essay by my colleague Chris Luebkeman, who was guest-editing an issue of Architectural Design journal, wherein each contribution would be framed around the idea of 2050. What you read below is the original edit.

Writing about 2050 seemed near-impossible. My then-six year-old son would be my age now in 2050, more or less. That single fact viscerally conveyed to me the difficulty of the task.

Nonetheless, cities are slow. Scrolling back the other way, we would recognise much of the physical city my father lived in when he was 44.

What has changed is the layer I described in the note on ‘Network Urbanism’: the enabling urban elements smaller than a building, bigger than a phone, sometimes immaterial. For my father and his generation, that might mean internet and mobile…

--

--

Dan Hill
But what was the question?

Designer, urbanist, etc. Director of Melbourne School of Design. Previously, Swedish gov, Arup, UCL IIPP, Fabrica, Helsinki Design Lab, BBC etc