Four Powerful Marketing Lessons From Nike And Michael Jordan

Have you seen the movie “Air”? What an exceptional example of sales, marketing, negotiating, and branding genius!

“Air Jordan” Movie — Powerful Marketing Lessons From Nike And Michael Jordan

I recently watched it and enjoyed it thoroughly. I’m not a basketball fan, but I do enjoy biographies. Plus, the movie was primarily about branding and marketing, so I watched it. I was in full analytical mode. It was a winner all the way around. I’ll use it as an example in my marketing courses and consulting.

Powerful Marketing Lessons

Few business stories illustrate the power of knowing your audience, disrupting norms, investing wisely, and trusting in expertise as the partnership between Nike and Michael Jordan.

In 1984, the fledgling sportswear company took a significant risk and signed the then-rookie player to a five-year endorsement deal. This move transformed the company’s trajectory and redefined athlete endorsements and marketing.

--

--

Marcia Hylton | Travel Writer & Move-Abroad Coach
The Buyer Unlocked

A Caribbean-born American expat based in Mexico City. I'm a travel writer, a move-abroad coach, and an ICF-trained life coach. www.moveabroadplan.com.