Working From Home Can Get Quite Boring

Here Are Some Strategies For Tackling The Mundane.

Dave Caolo
BuySellAds
4 min readSep 16, 2016

--

Working from home is a dream for many. It’s a pleasure to swap a boring commute and annoying office politics for the comfort and privacy of one’s own home. It’s a fantastic situation, until it isn’t. The repetitiveness and isolation can foster boredom, which is a real threat to productivity. Fortunately, there are easy steps to take that will help you avoid this situation. These are all things you can try today, for free. Let’s get to it.

You don’t have to actually spend your entire day at home…

Leave The House

You miss people. You miss face time with co-workers or the creative spark that can come from an enthused team. Perhaps it’s the amount of time you’re spending at home. I can remember once saying to my wife, “I haven’t left this house in two weeks.” That’s not good.

You needn’t be at home to work from home. When a bout of cabin fever threatens my productivity, it’s time for a change of scenery. Sometimes I can get away with moving to a new room, but usually an outing is required. The library is my first choice, as it’s clean, well-lit, the wi-fi is free and the workers don’t care how long I stay. Perhaps you prefer the coffee shop or even a park if the weather is nice. In any case, keep the following in mind when taking your work elsewhere.

  1. Know where you’re going to go ahead of time. This is a work day, after all, and you don’t want to waste time thinking of a solution.
  2. Only take the essentials. I can do my job with just an internet-connected computer. You’re trying to be mobile, so only take what’s necessary.
  3. Consider the time of day. Will your destination be crowded? Can you work in a busy area?

I keep a “go bag” ready at all times. It contains a notebook and pencil, a spare AC adapter for my computer, a spare charging cable for my phone and $10 in cash, in case I end up at the coffee shop. That way, when it’s time to “bug out” and find a new spot to work from, all I need to do is pop my computer into my bag and I’m off.

Make Some Noise

The peace and quiet of your home can be… counter productive. While I relish the solitude of a work day at home, the silence can be a problem, and I often turn on some background music. According to recent research, there’s a reason for that.

A study published in the Journal of Consumer Research suggests that “…getting into a relatively noisy environment may trigger the brain to think abstractly, and thus generate creative ideas.” Researchers conducted five experiments, and found that workers in a relatively quiet environment (50 decibels) and a moderate level of ambient noise (70 dB) demonstrated enhanced performance on creativity tasks, while those experiencing a high level of noise (85 dB) performed worse. Modest background noise seems effective.

If music isn’t your thing (I find lyrics distracting), consider an app like Coffitivity. It simulates the sound of a bustling coffee shop, a university cafe and more. Put on your headphones, find a comfortable volume level and get to work.

Drop What You’re Doing

Don’t hesitate to take a break. You work from home, so take advantage of it. When I find myself zoning out a bit, I’ll take a quick walk outside. The rejuvenating power of a simple stroll around the block can’t be overstated. It’s great to be outside, get some sun and see some new sights. I’ll take the dog along, too.

But there’s more to it than taking the dog out.

Taking a break actually helps us retain information and make connections. Have you ever noticed that you often have great ideas while taking a shower? Renowned neuroscientist Alice Flaherty’s research shows the connection between the neurotransmitter dopamine and creativity: “People vary in terms of their level of creative drive according to the activity of the dopamine pathways of the limbic system.” Dopamine is released by relaxing events like taking a shower, exercising, walking and driving the car. Give your brain a chance to have a “eureka!” moment with a quick break.

Be Social

Finally, take time to be social. I don’t mean spend time on Twitter (though you should follow us). Instead, set time aside to spend with other adults. Hang out with family or friends. Join a local professional organization. Perhaps find a local volunteer opportunity or recreational interest group. If you’re a telecommuter, schedule a day or two per week to be in the office.

Working from home can be a lonely business. Even those who thrive on the “alone time” — myself included — can get a little bored. Try out these strategies to renew your creative spark. You’ll be glad you did.

Keeping up to date?

--

--