Game 34: A 102–91 loss to the Celtics… featuring Red Clay’s The South End

Skipped this one and not upset that I did. Another miserable loss at home for Buzz City. Merry Christmas!

Johnny Wakefield
Buzz City Brews
3 min readDec 28, 2017

--

I make no apologies for skipping a Hornets game. This ain’t my life, I don’t get paid for any of this, and the Hornets have been fairly disappointing this season. I skipped this loss.

It looked like Wednesday’s game against Boston would be a difficult one (the Celtics are kind of good right now at 28–10), and the Hornets have only won four of their last 17 games.

It was.

Charlotte lost by 11 to Boston at the Hive, but the home team never led, and they trailed by as many as 20 in the first half. Not upset about missing this at all. Boston has a real shot at the NBA Finals this year, and, well, Charlotte does not.

I’ll leave this recap at that.

In keeping with the theme of the site though, I did still celebrate the game with my second cider of the week, The South End from Red Clay Ciderworks and so the blog continues.

Here’s how they describe their trendy-Charlotte-neighborhood-branded offering: “Back-sweetened with natural juice — never sugar — this medium-bodied cider is for those who prefer a touch of lusciousness to their libations.

Uh… what does that mean? I guess the takeaway is “we don’t use sugar,” but that leaves a lot of room for “what else is this?” Apparently, it’s a medium-bodied apple cider, and the can describes it as semi-sweet. Really it’s just a simple, watery apple cider. There’s nothing here to write home about, nothing to endorse, nothing to give it anything memorable.

I expected the apple flavor to pop a bit more than it did, but instead, each sip made me think “Damn, this is watery.” It was drinkable, far more so than their Cherry Bobbin Trolls cider, but really not worth the price I paid for it.

A middle of the road, “why am I drinking this” sort of drink, I’ll give it a generous 5 Muggsys out of 10, but leave it at the bottom of that range. I wish it had been more… just more. Hoping that their Queen City Common on Friday earns a better review.

The Hornets move on from the loss to Boston to a four game West Coast road trip. Considering we’ve only won two on the road, well, games against the Warriors and Clippers in California will probably go really well. Oy. Long may the holiday break continue. Buzzzzz.

--

--

Johnny Wakefield
Buzz City Brews

Sports fan, neighbor, husband, dad. Not in that order.