Game 44: A 106–105 loss to the Heat… featuring Birdsong’s Lazy Bird Brown

Seriously. I refuse to talk about what just happened.

Johnny Wakefield
Buzz City Brews
3 min readJan 21, 2018

--

The Hornets lost to the Heat by one point on Saturday night, 106–105. They were up by ten going into the fourth and up by five with less than a minute left. Here’s how it happened.

For the first time this season, I refuse to write about this game. Read Joshua Priemski’s legitimate recap instead.

The Kemba rumors are in full swing, prompting a lot of tanking talk on social media. But coming off a huge win on Wednesday, the Hornets were in position to ignore the chatter and build some momentum.

They’re definitely not in that position anymore. Quite a swing since mid-week, when I was riding high off the biggest win of the year.

For the beer on the night, I had Birdsong’s Lazy Bird Brown Ale. After loving the Puppies on Penguins on Wednesday and long describing the Jalapeño Pale Ale as my favorite in the city, I’m confident in saying Birdsong’s my favorite Charlotte brewery. We used to have First Ward neighborhood meetings there, and it has felt like my personal introduction to the Charlotte beer scene since 2014. Sadly, this brew is my least favorite from them so far.

Here’s how they describe one of their main year ‘round offerings: “Lazy Bird captures the essence of what it means to be an American Brown Ale, the perfect beer for any season. It pours a rich mahogany brown with a noticeable lemony yet roasty aroma, which comes from a heavy amount of cascade hops at the end of the boil, as well as a generous amount of roasted barley in the mash. Smooth and sessionable with hints of coffee and chocolate, this is a great brew for all occasions.

That feels like a lot going on: coffee, chocolate, lemon, roasty, hoppy, barley. Alright? I think I’m just not a “brown ale guy,” something good to learn from this process, as the beer didn’t have the body or mix of flavors I’ve enjoyed in others. For flavor, I didn’t really sense any of those listed, more just a bland… uh… roasty watery brown. Ha. Brown is not a flavor, but that’s where I went.

Maybe bread? Let’s go with bread. Not my thing, but apparently a good representation of the style according to others who love it. Five Muggsys out of ten from me.

I don’t even want to think about the Hornets right now, but they’ll play the Kings at home on Monday. They’re currently 18–26, and the Kings are tied for the worst record in the NBA at 13–32. Big game.

Buzzzzz.

--

--

Johnny Wakefield
Buzz City Brews

Sports fan, neighbor, husband, dad. Not in that order.