8 Less Known LGBTQIA+ Must Reads

BUZZ Magazine
BUZZ Magazine
Published in
5 min readJun 13, 2020

For Pride Month, here are a few reads Sarika Patkotwar recommends

Sometime ago, I had shared a list of 5 very adorable LGBT reads to pick up for Valentine’s Day on BUZZ Magazine. Now these are very popular contemporary reads. When Aniesha contacted me asking if I could update the list, it really got me contemplating. I have read quite a few LGBTQIA+ themed books, which I realised are not very well known, and I thought BUZZ would be the perfect platform to share my list of 8 less known LGBTQIA+ must reads. Some of these books are dark, some happy, some heart-breaking while some heart-warming, so you’re bound to find something that will interest you, but trust me, these will all help you in understanding gender and sexuality on a personal level with the help of all the protagonists in these incredible reads.

1. I Loved You First by Reena Jacobs:

I believe it is safe to say that this was one of the first LGBT books I read as I read it way back in November 2011 when I wasn’t even fully aware of the complexities of sexualities. This is an adorable story about two best friends Alexandria and Seth, the former in love with the latter and the latter trying his best to fit in. A wonderful and short read, this will make your weekend interesting.

2. My Best Friend, Maybe by Caela Carter:

I read this book in 2016 and it is a beautiful F/F story, one of the best of the category I have read so far. When it comes to LGBT, I find myself leaning more towards M/M romances, but this one made me want to explore more. With drama that is not overdone and characters who are relatable and understandable, the writing is eerie and so pretty.

3. Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz:

Hannah comes up with the most beautiful characters, which is why I tend to forget her stories, but the characters always stay. The same goes for Not Otherwise Specified. This is a really different, enjoyable and very good read that I would recommend to fans of young adult LGBT stories that take up the whole coming of age theme.

4. Repaired by Melissa Collins:

Repaired played with my emotions. This emotional roller coaster of a book made me laugh and brought tears to my eyes as well. I found myself so involved in the story that I felt very connected to it and it made me an emotional mess- something that is very rare. This book is truly beautiful with some amazing characters.

5. Dirty London by Kelley York:

Kelley York is one of my favourite authors. Her books have a certain magic to it, which was missing from this one. But it still a very interesting read about an F/F romance. Dirty London is a fantastic read that you will enjoy in spite of the slow pace in the second half of the book. Like any other book by Kelley York, I would blindly recommend this one too.

6. Love Spell by Mia Kerick:

Even though it took me a long time to finish Love Spell, every time I read bits of the book, it felt like I hadn’t left. I instantly connected with the main character Chance and his addictive and attractive personality. Mia Kerick is an amazing author and with this onem she has yet again written a brilliant novel about teenage confusion and human nature. I would highly, highly recommend this one.

7. It Could Happen by Mia Kerick:

Mia Kerick truly is an author whose works you must read! I enjoyed reading It Could Happen so much that I did not want it to end because I became so close to the characters that I wanted to know everything and more. I would definitely recommend this one to fans of contemporaries who have an open mind don’t mind going for something hot and new every once in a while. Give this book a go; you won’t be disappointed. And when you understand the cover, you’ll appreciate it even more.

8. Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters:

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me is not just an F/F romance. It’s actually more of a thriller with all the mystery surrounding a death in the book, but unfortunately, it’s not much of a mystery. There’s an air of intrigue and chilly feels that surround the book and it only adds to the charm of it. Author Julie Anne Peters has written it well. Give this less own book a go.

And that concludes my list of 8 less known LGBT reads. If you wish to read one or some or all of these books, they are available on Amazon Kindle. Let me know if you end up reading something from this list I enjoyed putting forth for you. Happy reading!

--

--