How I Learned To Tolerate Exercise

Despite being chronically ill and perpetually awkward.

April Hayman
By: April
2 min readJan 12, 2022

--

Pink yoga mat on parquet floor with pink block and pick towel
Photo by Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

I hate exercise. Always have. It’s a reminder of how awkward I am, physically, and how out of shape I’ve become (or stayed, depending on your viewpoint).

And yet, I’ve begun an exercise program. An easy one, to be sure, but still, I’m moving my body twenty minutes a day.

So, what changed? Two things and it wasn’t a promise of losing weight or a flood of endorphins, although those are nice benefits.

External Goals Are Good

First, a conference I desperately want to attend is held at a hotel in Las Vegas in a space that is 100,000 square feet.

There’s no way I can move from one end to the other all day long while being in the shape I’m in now. I’d pass out before the first back and forth.

Ergo, I need to build my stamina and daily exercise helps with that.

So Are Internal Goals

Secondly, my joints are damaged from an auto-immune disorder and the same disorder causes muscles to waste away.

Not fun.

I counter most of the effects with medication. And, as it’s been pointed out to me multiple times by those near and dear to my heart, healthy eating and exercise help.

And they’re not just saying that. There are several studies on the benefits of exercise¹ ² (aerobic and strength) as well as reducing sugar intake³.

After two years of stress and anxiety throwing me into flares, despite the medication I’m on, I said enough.

It was time to take that next step and start taking care of myself, which means actually exercising and not eating sugar. Ugh.

Not Loving It But Not Hating It Either

Do I still detest exercising? Yeah, it’s not my favorite but still, I’m doing it.

Maybe it’s the combination of exercises for women over fifty (even though I’m not) and a better eye on what I eat (less sugar and processed foods) that have finally reduced my hatred of it.

Or I’ve finally admitted that I need to take care of myself, physically. Whatever it is, I’ve finally stuck to an exercise regime for more than two weeks.

Here’s to many more weeks to come!

Do you have an autoimmune disorder or chronic illness and exercise? Has it helped with your symptoms?

Let me know about your experiences in the comment section!

By April

Footnotes

  1. Benefits of Exercise in Rheumatoid Arthritis, (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3042669/)

2. Does exercise therapy improve patient-reported outcomes in rheumatoid arthritis? A systematic review and meta-analysis for the update of the 2020 JCR guidelines for the management of rheumatoid arthritis. https://doi.org/10.1080/14397595.2021.1886653

3. The role of diet in rheumatoid arthritis, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6142028/

--

--

April Hayman
By: April

April Hayman is an author, autoimmune disorder warrior, wife, and mother. She is an inveterate book lover, stationery hoarder, & champion procrastinator.