Where to Run in London

A Runner’s Guide to Europe, Part 1 of 5

Cherry A McLaughlin
Be Curious
7 min readSep 9, 2016

--

Westminster Abbey, London

The last time I visited London I had just started to like running: I mean really like it. I ran for the simple joys that running has to offer — adventure, exploration, fitness, friendship. I ran regularly several days a week, regardless of weather, and often with a friend, and I didn’t want travel to disrupt this new healthy habit. Determined to explore London on foot by way of a run, I used Google Maps to stitch together a 6-mile route, connecting several points of interest throughout the central parks of London. I had created my first sightseeing run, and I absolutely loved it — the nature, the architecture, the local flavor, and all the surprises in between. I visited London again recently and began a series of sightseeing runs throughout Europe that I’d like to share with those of you also interested in maintaining a running habit while traveling.

This first route was a 6.5mi (10.5km) loop that followed the River Thames from Westminster Bridge to Tower Bridge and included a short detour to St. Paul’s Cathedral. There were many photo opportunities along the way, as well as loads of people in some spots, so I didn’t set any personal records, but I did get a good cardio workout while checking off a list of London’s top attractions. I started and ended this loop near the great bell and clock tower, Big Ben.

Sightseeing highlights included Big Ben, London Eye, Millennium Bridge, Tower Bridge, St. Paul’s Cathedral, The Shard

Screenshot of planned route. To view the interactive map, see The Route section.

The Run

I had planned to run in sunny weather — which would make for better sightseeing — but as I walked to my starting point, I considered the ominous clouds looming overhead instead. Rain or shine, I knew I would run, but I doubted I would get any good photos on this little adventure. Instagram priorities aside, I looked forward to the impending weather because I’ve found running in the rain to be a ridiculously fun event with few crowds and much laughter. This rainstorm didn’t disappoint. I’m used to running in San Francisco rain, more of a constant drizzle, so the serious downpour in London made for a great surprise.

I began my run near Big Ben, dodging tourists while crossing the river on Westminster Bridge. Just after I passed the London Eye with all of its crowds the rain started. It gradually fell heavier as I continued along the South Bank and then turned into a straight downpour when I pulled into Millennium Bridge. I sought shelter under the bridge along with a dozen tourists dressed in raincoats topped with umbrellas. In true workout form, however, I dressed simply in running clothes topped with a visor. I may have stood out. Already soaked with minimal cover from the bridge, I laughed and took a chance photo with my phone when a fellow runner flew by. I suddenly felt everyone’s eyes on me.

Left to right: Enroute to Big Ben, Under Millennium Bridge, Tower Bridge from the South Bank

Shamed into moving on, I continued running and completely forgot about the Tate Modern. Had it not been raining, I would have remembered to climb on top of Millennium Bridge and glimpse a view of the museum’s architecture. Likewise, because of the rain, I simply acknowledged running by the Globe Theatre and HMS Belfast and kept moving on.

The South Bank offered several viewpoints and restaurants that jut slightly out onto the river. After one of these viewpoints, the promenade stopped and I lost the river for a few blocks as I navigated around buildings and through alleyways with limited visibility. Thankfully, I managed to find my way back to the river and by the time I splashed onto Tower Bridge, the heaviest rains had passed. My spirits lifted when I saw another runner in this inclement weather and I grinned widely at him with laughing eyes as we crossed paths.

Things may not always go as planned, but then again, sometimes the unexpected events make for my most memorable stories.

On the northern bank, I survived running on slippery cobblestone for a few hundred meters before safely finding smooth pavement again. Then soon after, I came across a tall construction barrier that blocked my path. Having had enough excitement on this run, I decided to take a break. I soaked in my surroundings and admired The Shard across the river before retracing my steps and making my way to Millennium Bridge. I skipped the jaunt to St. Paul’s Cathedral and instead walked onto the bridge to appreciate one of my favorite views of London, one that reminds me of the famous photo of St. Paul’s Cathedral taken after the Blitzkrieg in WWII.

Left to right: The Shard and a peek atthe HMS Belfast, St. Paul’s Cathedral from Millennium Bridge, London Eye

From there, I continued running on an easy, uneventful stretch of the northern bank all the way back to Big Ben. This was my first run in 3 weeks, after a high-hamstring injury — a real pain in the butt — and with about a mile left to go, I was thankful I had skipped the side trip to St. Paul’s. I ended my run, tired and content, back at Big Ben with a view of the London Eye across the river.

Planning gives me a guideline to follow, flexibility leaves me with an experience to remember.

London Eye from St. James’s Park (Photo credit: David McLaughlin)

The Route

Interactive Map

Created in MapMyRun, no login required: London City Loop: Westminster, Tower Bridge, St Paul, 6.5mi / 10.5km.

Navigation Points

I run with a phone and a section of Google Maps available offline so I can view my location and correct course at any time. Below are key landmarks or reference points with rough mile-markers to help with this route.

  • Mile 0.0: Start at Big Ben, specifically the Boudican Rebellion statue
  • Mile 1.5: Millennium Bridge (pedestrian-only bridge, Tate Modern side)
  • Mile 3.0: Tower Bridge (after crossing river)
  • Mile 5.0: Millennium Bridge (St. Paul’s Cathedral side)
  • Mile 6.5: Finish at Big Ben
Big Ben, Palace of Westminster, London

And a Few Recommendations

Next Time

I had visited London umpteen times before but had a new perspective exploring the city with this riverside run. Even the rain made this run feel that much more authentic. If I were to do it again, I’d run in the morning before the crowds gather and congest the promenade of the South Bank. I’d probably start before 8.00am, definitely before 9.00am, and I’d try to run on a sunny day because there are just so many photo opportunities on this route.

A Shorter Option

For a shorter loop, start at Big Ben and run the first mile and a half as planned. Then cross the river on Millennium Bridge instead of Tower Bridge and pick up the route again for the return. This shorter route is about 3.2 miles, or 3.8 miles with the side trip to St. Paul’s, and cuts out all the construction and detours that interrupted my run on the full route.

Also, on my last visit to London, I ran a 6-mile loop through its central parks — St. James’s Park, Green Park, Hyde Park, and Kensington Gardens. The perimeter around Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens alone offers a 4-mile loop that’s a great option for 1st-time visitors.

A Little Bit of Something Else

To round out this quick trip to London, aside from the obligatory shopping in Covent Garden, I signed up for a FREE/Pay-what-you-wish East London Food Tour. It’s a fun and inexpensive walking tour, a little off the beaten path, that allowed me to experience London’s local flavor. Jessica, the author of this tour, guided us through a culinary stroll of East London, helping each person curate their own meal through a series of savory and sweet food stops. I had not explored East London before and enjoyed the food, the scene, as well as the local anecdotes.

One of many stops on the East London Food Tour

--

--

Cherry A McLaughlin
Be Curious

adventurer. planner. completer. excited by health + food + tech. lover of experiences such as new foods, locales, and technologies (but only when they work)!