Where to Run in Munich

A Runner’s Guide to Europe, Part 5 of 5

Cherry A McLaughlin
Be Curious
7 min readSep 9, 2016

--

Town Hall, Marienplatz, Munich

The first time I visited Munich I ran many miles north through the English Garden to train for an upcoming half marathon. So for this visit, I wanted to explore a new area and with the help of a running guide from the hotel, I discovered an amazing route that made me feel like a local Münchner. The 7mi (11.2km) route started in Marienplatz (the city center) then followed the East bank of Isar River to Flaucher Park, and returned via the West bank to close the loop. It was flat and easy and while I might have seen a tourist or two, I definitely had immersed myself mostly among locals.

Sightseeing highlights included The Platzl with a brief glimpse of the city center but mostly nature with the Isar River and all its beaches and views (plus a secret spot)

Screenshot of planned route. To view the interactive map, see The Route section.

The Run

Over the past two weeks several of my runs had been cloudy or rainy, but for this last run in Europe the sun finally broke out from behind the clouds—I reveled in its warmth. Getting out of the city proved simple though slow because of usual city traffic — stop lights, cars, and narrow sidewalks congested with pedestrians. From the Platzl Hotel, I reached the Isar River in a little over half a mile with only the large intersection of Isartorplatz requiring some thought. Not wanting to wait for all the lights, I used the underground pedestrian walkway to bypass traffic but got a little turned around underneath and still had to cross some traffic after surfacing above.

Once I reached the Isar River, I remembered to cross two bridges to make my way over Museum Island before taking the stairs down to the waterfront. I wanted to start on the East bank because when running clockwise, this would put me closest to the water — Germans drive/walk on the right. Just after Museum Island lay a small stretch of rocky beach where I saw the first few sunbathers. After a quick photo stop, I continued on the paved path, under bridges and car traffic, and enjoyed a long stretch of solid cardio.

Left to right: Along the bank of the Isar River — Muffatwerk (music venue), St. Maximilian catholic church, Pedestrian and bike paths

While I appreciated the sun, I appreciated the river even more because a few miles into my run I felt so hot that I just wanted to go swimming. I walked down to the beach, soaked my visor in the cold water, and let it dry on my head. The dripping water instantly cooled my face and neck and tempted me to also soak my shirt in the river. Noticing several families on the beaches, I thought better of it but also decided I would definitely come back by bike and show my husband this awesome spot. It took me a minute, but as I slowly absorbed my surroundings, ironically, I realized that I stood directly across from a nude beach.

Moving along, I crossed a series of wooden bridges and then followed a single-track trail that meandered through the woods. I brushed past untamed foliage and jumped over tree roots all along the river — pure trail running bliss. When I reached the end of the trail I discovered that I had stranded myself on an islet in the middle of the river. With my mind focused on getting back on track, I didn’t register a little local spot a few meters away. Doubling back, I picked up the main trail again and crossed the river, sticking to the pavement once on the riverbank. I ran through an underpass with a lot of street art and then unexpectedly stumbled upon the highlight of my run — that little local spot I had missed across the rivulet.

Left to right: Rocky beach in Flaucher Park, Wooden bridge with the power plant in the backdrop, Street art along an underpass

I noticed a small clearing just off the paved path and wandered over to glimpse a final view of the river. But behold! I saw wooden planks haphazardly thrown together around a tree. My curiosity immediately took charge. Forget the run. I scrambled down the rocky bank and started to climb my secret treehouse — clearly not built to any housing code at all. I stomped around a little to test its stability but feared stomping too hard lest I go through and into the water. I probably loitered there for a good 10 minutes, admiring and climbing all three levels before finally perching at the top, conqueror of this castle.

Best local find, a multi-level treehouse

After a quick break at the treehouse, I headed back to the hotel, not finding anything nearly as amusing on the remainder of my run. I finished at the bridge on the river’s edge where I started this loop and cooled down on the walk back to the Platzl Hotel. Workout complete with a little exploring and a lot of fun finding a secret treehouse, I felt I had a perfect ending to this series of runs in Europe.

The Route

Interactive Map

Created in MapMyRun, no login required: Munich City Loop: Platzl, Isar River, Flaucher 6.9mi / 11.2km.

Navigation Points

I run with a phone and a section of Google Maps available offline so I can view my location and correct course at any time. Below are key landmarks or reference points with rough mile-markers to help with this route.

  • Mile 0.0/6.9: Start/End at the Platzl Hotel in Marienplatz
  • Mile 1.0: Near the Museum Island on the East bank, after crossing river
  • Mile 2.0: Between Wittelsbacherbrücke (bridge) and the railway bridge
  • Mile 3.5: Wooden bridge in Flaucher, turning point of run
  • Mile 4.7: Secret treehouse
  • Mile 6.5: Back at Ludwigsbrücke (bridge) to close the loop
Urban surfing in the English Garden

And a Few Recommendations

Next Time

This route felt easy and I enjoyed my experience, so I wouldn’t change much. The total distance was longer than I prefer, but the beaches, wooden bridges, and views in Flaucher were worth the extra mileage. To shorten it, I’d consider walking through the city center and beginning the run at the river itself. The city part had the expected stop-and-go cadence anyway with usual stoplight, car, and pedestrian traffic. In hindsight, this would have been a great opportunity to sip a latte while enjoying the city activity on the way to start my run.

A Shorter Option

For a shorter loop, start at the Platzl Hotel and run along the East bank of Isar River as planned. Just after passing the power plant (opposite side of the river), cross the river on the wide auto and pedestrian-friendly bridge, Brudermühlbrücke. Make your way to the West bank of the river and enjoy the northern tip of Flaucher Park. Run back to the first bridge, Ludwigsbrücke, to close the loop. This shorter loop is about 4.6 miles. Unfortunately, you’ll miss the entertaining beaches and wooden bridges in the heart of Flaucher but you’ll still stumble upon the secret treehouse.

On my last trip to Munich, I explored the English Garden and the Isar River to the North. The English Garden has a vast network of trails that offer a range of distances, perfect for new runners logging 3mi / 5km. And at the entrance to the English Garden lies a not-so-secret area where you can watch urban surfers ride a continuous wave.

A Little Bit of Something Else

For a first-timer’s visit to Munich, one must visit the Hofbräuhaus, probably the most famous beer hall in the world. While I rate the food ok, I rate the experience unforgettable. It’s packed with crowds and loud with music, oompahs, and random cheering. You don’t go to have a conversation. You go to experience a beer hall. Note: After a certain hour, they only serve beer in the 1L mugs. I learned the hard way. :)

Hofbräuhaus from the Platzl Hotel

--

--

Cherry A McLaughlin
Be Curious

adventurer. planner. completer. excited by health + food + tech. lover of experiences such as new foods, locales, and technologies (but only when they work)!