Playing for Your People

Tiago Splitter
Cycle
Published in
4 min readMar 25, 2016
The day after the procedure.

(The piece is presented below in Portuguese. A peça é apresentada abaixo em Português.)

When I was growing up in Santa Catarina, where soccer is king, people thought I was the strange one for playing basketball. At the time, people didn’t understand it. Looking back now and being the first Brazilian player to win an NBA title, my career path is something that I never could have imagined being possible. Even my grandfather once, totally serious, asked me, “Can you make a living playing basketball?” I said, “Grandad, I think I’ll be okay.” This was right before I signed my first professional contract in Spain at 15 years old.

It is because of my unique path and passion for the sport that I take my responsibility to perform at a high level each night very seriously. I tried everything I could to get back on the court this season…anti-inflammatories, injections, physical therapy. These are the treatments all NBA players get to stay healthy. But nothing worked and the pain continued. I couldn’t play the way I wanted to and it began to impact me at home. My activity with my kids was way down and I suffered from many restless nights. I couldn’t bend down to put my socks on.

So I started doing my research. I spoke with everyone I could find inside the NBA and out, including multiple doctors, the Hawks medical staff, and people who had experienced hip pain during and after their careers, including Ronny Turiaf, Jason Kidd, and even someone named Travis Andre Ross, who trains for American Ninja Warrior (I contacted him through Instagram!). Everyone was supportive and passionate about attacking the problem.

The surgery is designed specifically to allow me to return to a NBA level of physical performance. The toughest part of the decision is missing the Olympics. Brazil has been dreaming of this moment for a long time and to have the games in my home country is really special for every Brazilian athlete. It hurts that I can’t play, but my Brazilian brothers in the NBA have been really supportive.

I think back to that moment with my grandfather and imagine how every Brazilian NBA player probably had a similar experience. Basketball may not be the top sport in Brazil, but it is growing and I feel a strong sense of pride to represent the country. It’s crazy that I made it here and now I must keep going. This is what drives me. I am excited that I am getting better.

Right after surgery, back on my feet!

Jogando Para o Seu Povo

Em Santa Catarina, enquanto eu crescia e todos jogavam futebol, eu era o estranho que jogava Basquete. Na época as pessoas não entendiam isso direito, e olhando para traz, sendo o primeiro brasileiro a ganhar um título na NBA, eu realmente nunca imaginaria chegar a tal ponto na minha carreira. Como exemplo, te conto uma história que aconteceu pouco antes de fechar meu primeiro contrato profissional na Espanha com 15 anos. Na época meu avô me perguntou muito serio: “Você pode ganhar a vida jogando basquete?” Eu respondi: “Eu acho que sim”

Pela trajetória bem diferente e pela minha paixão pelo Basquete, sempre executei da melhor maneira possível o que precisava ser feito em cada partida. Nesta temporada eu tentei tudo o que esteve ao meu alcance para jogar no nível que sempre joguei… Anti-inflamatórios, injeções, fisioterapia. Estes são os tratamentos que todos os jogadores da NBA fazem para ficar saudáveis, se recuperarem, mas nada disso adiantou e a dor continuava. Eu não estava conseguindo jogar da maneira como queria, a dor começou a me afetar em casa também, até mesmo brincando com meu filho eu sentia dor! Não dormia direito e até calçar as meias já era difícil.

A cirurgia que realizei é, especificamente, para me permitir retornar ao nível NBA de jogo. A parte mais difícil desta decisão foi quando tive que renunciar a chance de participar dos jogos olímpicos do Rio de Janeiro. O Brasil vem sonhando com esse momento a muito tempo, e poder jogar em casa seria realmente muito especial, assim como será para cada atleta Brasileiro. Dói muito não poder jogar este ano, porém meus amigos de seleção compreenderam e estão me apoiando bastante na decisão que tomei.

Eu volto no tempo e penso naquele momento que tive com meu avô e imagino que vários dos brasileiros que jogam na NBA devem ter histórias parecidas. O Basquete Brasileiro pode não ser o esporte numero um no Brasil, mas vem crescendo muito, e eu me sinto orgulhoso por sempre poder representar o meu país. Foi muito duro decidir fazer o que fiz, mas estou muito feliz com minha recuperação e me sinto cada dia melhor!! logo estarei de volta!!

--

--