New Year's Resolutions

Nick Ciolpan
Graffino
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2019
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Is it too late for new year resolutions and past year reviews? Hope not, because we decided to share some of our own. :)

Nick

This year I’ve dabbled in older PHP and first-generation Zend code. Therefore, I’m looking forward to a more javascript intensive 2019.

Although I’ve got my hands dirty with React and GraphQL before, I’ve never got deep enough to consider myself a “Facebook stack” pro. I’ve decided to up my game this year. ReasonML is another Facebook goodie that’s winking at me.

If there’s time left at the end of 2019, I’ll be filling that in with some Python flavored Data Science.

Dani

2018 has found me working on my first Front-end development job. I’ve started with CSS preprocessors and jQuery and worked my way up to Vue and PHP with Laravel. I’ve also got play with more recent technologies such as GraphQL.

I’m really excited to see what 2019 brings along. In the meanwhile, I’ll be upgrading my Laravel skills and checkout Nuxt and Gatsby.

Paul

For me, 2018 was the best year yet development-wise. It allowed me to work on some dope projects and absorb a lot of new information and pick up on new technologies to add to my skill set.
My highlights of 2018 were:

  • mastering advanced CSS
  • learning JavaScript Testing
  • getting acquainted with Ember 🐹

This year, I’ll focus on Ember and SVG animations.

Zeno

I’m grateful I could work with my favorite stack last year: Laravel + Vue = ❤. My ambition for 2019 is to dig into Docker and Node.

Tools that helped us along in 2018

We’re happy some of the services that we are using had a great year, as well.

Github. We’ve been keeping an eye on GitLabs integrated CI for a while now and just when we were about to jump the boat, we received an e-mail telling us to check out our GitHub Actions account. At the same time, we got the news that GitHub is giving free private repositories to all its users.

ActiveCollab. A brand new design that finally feels good. But wait there’s more. The guys at AC did a great job at bringing in some of the features we were longing for and without which we wouldn’t have stayed in their boat for much longer. Task dependencies, better search and filtering, and many other features and bug fixes. If you want to find out more about what they’re up to, go ahead follow their roadmap.

More great individuals have joined Graffino this year and we’re about to move to a new office. All in all, 2018 was a great year for us, at Graffino.

How about you?

--

--

Nick Ciolpan
Graffino

Co-founder of Graffino. I have extensive experience as a full stack developer, managing clients and building state of the art platforms.