Photo by Zoe Myers at @The Women’s March

BYLINED Q&A w/Zoe Myers

David Hunegnaw
BYLINED

--

You’re studying photography at Ohio State, tell us a bit about some of your favorite experiences you’ve had in your major.

Some of my favorite experiences I’ve had are with the other people in the photography department. We are able to bounce ideas off each other and create things we never knew we could. Not to mention all the fun I’ve had over the years with those people.

When you’re not busy with school or work, what are you up to? This can include working on personal projects or petting animals or literally anything else you do for fun, it’s up to you.

When I’m not busy with school or working the little amount of time I have left I love to spend with my family and friends. I love going to see movies and catching up on current events. I also make it a priority to go home to my parents to see my dog as often as possible.

Looking at your Instagram profile, you seem to be a jack of all trades — from studio shots to landscapes to architectural photography. What do you hope to accomplish with your practice, what drives you and inspires you?

I haven’t quiet gotten to the answer of what exactly I want to accomplish with my practice. I absolutely love working with people and would love to tie my social issues into my work some day. I’m simply inspired by everything in the world, nature, art, people or whatever. I try to not to go a single day without being inspired or creating some kind of abstract idea for my work.

Why did you attend the Women’s March on Washington? It was a huge movement; as a person, are social issues generally important to you?

I don’t like to ask myself why I attended the Women’s March on Washington. I received a lot of praise from my friends and family but in reality it was just something that I was supposed to do. As soon as I got off the Metro in D.C. I knew I was exactly where I was supposed to be. Social issues are the most important issues to me, I have decided to turn 2017 in my year of creating a voice and becoming a better activist.

You captured such a beautiful and powerful moment, how did you feel as soon as it was shot?

As soon as I captured the photo I was very happy. In a crowd that size and at an event so important I was nervous I wasn’t going to get the shot I wanted but I know I did. I knew that photo was the one and it will stay with me my entire life.

As someone with professional experience do you have any tips or tricks to offer the BYLINED community?

I think overall BYLINED is a convenient fun app to use. I think if maybe there were more than one winner per assignment that might encourage more people to post more photos. Also maybe if BYLINED had a twitter as well or maybe even a facebook it would be easier to share and get more attention through social media.

About BYLINED.

BYLINED is the first customer engagement platform that gives brands the opportunity to engage their fans for unique, brand oriented photos along with the metadata behind the photo. Check us out at www.bylined.me.

#ugc #usergeneratedcontent #contentmarketing

--

--