I Tried 5 Treatments to Get the Best Butt Ever

Byrdie Beauty
BYRDIE BEAUTY
Published in
4 min readSep 2, 2016
PHOTO: Urban Outfitters

As I described in detail in a piece about my favorite features, I’m a fan of my backside. It’s an asset that makes me feel confident in hip-hugging clothing, which has been a really helpful step in my (long) journey toward loving my body and accepting each and every curve. As expected, that hasn’t always been the case. But after years of resenting, struggling, and quietly stewing over my figure, I’ve grown into a woman who can handle a larger-than-sample-size number on the tag of my jeans. Jeans that look pretty fantastic on a girl with a butt, I might add.

So this summer, I embarked on a journey to best tighten, tone, and show off my bum. A celebration of my body, more like. I researched treatments, lotions, and potions, and I tried out the ones that sounded the most intriguing. At the end of three months, I’m giving my butt a resounding A+. Below, I singled out the few things I wanted to enhance. Keep reading to find out everything I did to get there and the small improvements that made a world of difference.

1. Tending to Cellulite

Park Avenue plastic surgeon Scott Wells offers Cellulaze, a treatment that aims to provide an effective and permanent solution for unwanted cellulite. As you probably know, cellulite is the dimpling and irregularity that inevitably develops in the thighs and bum of most women (90%, to be exact).

During a consultation, Wells explained the procedure: “Cellulaze is a fantastic treatment designed for the correction of cellulite based on its causative anatomy. Through tiny openings in the skin, a laser fiber the size of a spaghetti strand is introduced into the area of cellulite to reverse the three causes. First, laser energy is used to melt some of the expanded fat later. Next, the laser is used like a high-tech scissor to cut and release the fibrous bands under the skin. Finally, and most importantly, laser energy is directed right at the skin to safely heat the skin to a very specific temperature, resulting in the remodeling and strengthening of the skin’s elasticity.”

In the past, many methods for correction of cellulite have been tried, but none addressed all of the causes as effectively or as permanently. The procedure is performed using local anesthesia, so there is no discomfort. Generally, only a single session is needed. The price varies from $3000 to over $5000, depending on the size of the areas treated and number of areas. Results take a few weeks to months to develop, because this is a permanent restructuring of the skin and requires time for the body to form new collagen.”

I debated giving it a go — why not? It’s totally safe and only minimally invasive. The thing is, I’m very squeamish. Like, “will faint just thinking about a shot at the doctor’s office”–level squeamish. So I decided to think about it for a while and use a fellow editor’s go-to cellulite-busting treatments instead.

The magic ingredient in this fast-absorbing, deliciously scented cream (seriously, it’s a mix of caramel and pistachio, and I feel the urge to eat it each time I apply) is guaraná — a native Amazonian plant whose fruit contains one of the most potent forms of caffeine on the planet. Caffeine equals tighter, smoother skin. The product also includes moisture heavy-hitters cupuaçu butter, açaí, and coconut oil for a truly hydrating experience. I’ve noticed a visible difference in ripples and dimples since I began using it just a few months ago.

2. Learning to Contour

As I’ve mentioned, I love a good spray tan. And there’s no better (or quicker) way to boost confidence than a glowy bronze and a little subsequent contouring. St. Tropez finishing expert Sophie Evans contours your abs, arms, legs, and butt during each session, and the results are pretty remarkable.

After a fresh coat of self-tanner, Evans goes in with a smaller air-brush to get the proper contour — she darkens the curves underneath each cheek and shapes the right and left side. By the end, my butt looks lifted and nicely rounded, and the rest of me looks decidedly slimmer. You can DIY the process with a makeup sponge, or brush and your favorite self-tanner. I’m partial to St. Tropez’sGradual Tan Everyday Body Lotion in Medium/Dark ($15).

With absolutely zero self-tan scent (a deal breaker, I must admit), this moisturizing lotion can be applied daily to build a gradual, sun-kissed color on your entire body. It’s never sticky, and it always looks natural.

See the results of the other three treatments on Byrdie.com. Would you test any cellulite treatments or contouring? Tell us your thoughts in the comments below.

Originally published at www.byrdie.com on September 2, 2016.

--

--