Its Nobel Prize time!

Dr James Wootton
Byspells of Worldken
1 min readDec 10, 2016

Today is the day that the Nobel prizes are awarded.

To celebrate, I’ve collected some links to descriptions of the award winning science. Hopefully they’ll be no less accessible than a Bob Dylan song.

The Official Ones

These are the popular accounts of the science behind the prizes published on the official site. I couldn’t find one for medicine, so you’ve got the press release instead.

Physics - Strange phenomena in matter’s flatlands (PDF)

Chemistry - How molecules became machines (PDF)

Medicine - Mechanisms for autophagy

Economics- Contract theory (PDF)

More!

Physics - The articles on IFL Science and Popular Science are worth a look. For an entirely different perspective, you can also check out the Hacker Noon article I wrote.

Chemistry - Again, IFL Science and Popular Science article are worth a look. As is this one from here on Medium.

Medicine - Check out IFL Science and Popular Science. I swear! Though my cousin does work for IFL Science. He didn’t wri

Economics- I find it hard to find economics stuff. But I’ve heard of Time magazine, so its article can’t be too bad!

Even More!

The internets are full with clever people. So I’m sure there’s much more out there. If you know about more stuff, post it in the comments of this Reddit thread.

--

--

Dr James Wootton
Byspells of Worldken

Helping to make quantum computers IBM Research . Occasionally misusing them for fun and/or science. Two Ts and no Es. All nonsense here is my own doing