Are you a Pythonista?

Arpit Omprakash
Byte-Sized-Code
Published in
4 min readMar 2, 2020

Anyone who uses Python in his/her daily life must have at least heard of the word Pythonista, but do you know what it means to be one?

Simply put, A Pythonista is someone who uses python on a regular basis for programming and is a loyal fan of python

Another term that people generally come across is pythoneer. It is nothing but the amalgamation of Python and Engineer, basically an intermediate to expert python programmer who knows a lot about concepts such as exception handling, OOPS, algorithms, and data structures.
A Pythonista can be used for even beginner python programmers who are passionately in love with Python and the concept of Python. Although I have used OOPS and know a thing or two about exception handling, GUI development, and game development, I don’t think of myself as a pythoneer. Mostly because I don’t know much about the basics and inner workings of many python functions, and my knowledge of algorithms is rusty. I do believe that I am a Pythonista, mostly because I find it easy and beautiful to code in Python compared to other languages such as C, R, or Java.

Why Python?

A bit of a backstory, I started with C, Java, and finally got into Python. C was a bit long for me and although it made me learn a lot of concepts such as pointers and stuff, it was much difficult to code in C compared to Java. I used Java for some time (around 8–9 months) before stumbling upon Python in college. The day I wrote my first program, I fell in love with Python. For instance, take a look at the ‘Hello World’ program in all three languages:

C

#include <stdio.h>
int main() {
printf("Hello, World!");
return 0;
}

Java

class Main{
public static void main(String[] args){
System.out.println("Hello World");
}
}

Python

print('hello world')

All the above languages have their pros and cons, but personally, if I can do something is such a precise and elegant manner, I don’t see a point of doing the same thing more syntactically. There are situations where even I have to rely on Java (e.g., Android development) as python app development for android is still not that good.
What I think and many people all over the world tend to agree on is that Python is the easiest language to learn to code in. It is writing English with some amount of indentation, no unnecessary curly brackets, or semi-colons!
Along with the fact that it is super easy to learn, Python offers multiple toolboxes or modules that can help you effortlessly achieve many things. The public modules available range from simple modules that help keep track of date and time to complex modules that help carry out AI/ML tasks like TensorFlow, sci-kit-learn, etc.

How can you be a Pythonista?

If you are new to programming or are starting in some other language, I suggest giving Python a try and see if it fits whatever you have in mind. If it does, congratulations, you are in luck! But don’t be so happy once you decide on learning Python, the first problem you would have is the availability of plenty of resources which all seem exciting and easy. It’s so overwhelming nowadays, but here are some simple ones to give you a headstart:

  • Python documentation: This is “the” final guide for everything, but it may be a bit difficult to navigate in the beginning. Don’t worry; you will soon get accustomed to it and start loving it.
  • Data-flair Python course: Starts at level zero and even takes you through installing Python and getting started. This is one of the most helpful resources that I have found lately.
  • Learn Python: Another simple resource that even provides projects at the end of varying difficulties that can help you learn more and build a strong portfolio in the modern ages. Give it a try once you are done with the basics.

Some various other sources and blogs teach you a lot of things. I suggest you should first dive into the basics: syntax, algorithms, data structures, loops, and conditional statements. Then head over to utilizing some simple or widely used packages like random, time, Tkinter, numpy, matplotlib, and pandas. It might be useful to start following relevant people on their social sites and join a coding club or someplace where you can get regular practice for coding. Look up OOPS also!
Finally, if you get to it and are pretty sure about your knowledge of all the above things, dive into the deeper stuff like Data Science or web development using flask or django.

I’d conclude by saying that I’m a hardcore Pythonista as I’m a huge fan of programming in Python and jump to it whenever I can, starting from solving simple problems to making games and developing software. So, what do you think? Are you a fan of Python? If so, why? Comment your answers, and let’s have a discussion!

Before you go…

Connect with Me on Instagram and Facebook.

If you found this article helpful, click the

button below (remember it can go up to 50 claps — it helps me a lot if you’re generous with that clap button ;) ) or share the article on Facebook/Twitter if you want your friends to benefit from it in some way at all.

Share your thoughts in the comments and follow me for more such articles!

--

--

Arpit Omprakash
Byte-Sized-Code

I'm a Programming and Statistics enthusiast studying Biology. To find out if we have common interests, have a look at my thoughts: https://aceking007.github.io/