Son of Shadow Hero of Light

C. Louis S.
C. Louis S.
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

Courage. Compassion. A warm light for all to follow.

Leave your superpowers and trust the music in your heart

In a world where playing games on cell phones give people superpowers like flying or teleporting, twelve-year-old Leon can shine light from his hands which is the least useful superpower of the nine. But when he discovers his real ability, he turns his world upside down chasing more and more power.

Not only is that devastating for his family, but he also destroys his friendship with his best friend, and then discovers that his real ability is tricking him into following a sinister power. He’ll have to give up everything that made him popular in order to do what’s right.

It’s a spiritual journey with superpowers

Links

Amazon | Kindle | Shirts, stickers, etc.

What people are saying

An excellent read! The author takes the classic struggle of Light vs. Dark and uniquely stages it in our modern world of technology and texting. With this overarching theme the reader gets to know Leon, the teenage protagonist, and his own struggles with friendship, trust, peer pressure, popularity, and even his purpose in life.

The invaluable principles contained in this book are clearly taught. I especially appreciate how the author teaches about the real powers of Dark and Light in a safe manner. I finished the book feeling uplifted and enlightened.

I will share this book with my children as they reach adolescence!

Important Information

Here’s some things that I think are important to mention about the story

  • Passes the Betchel Test
  • Intended audience: Teenage boys (10–14 ish)
  • 3–5 hour reading time
  • Violence is Not the Answer
  • Uplifting Christian themes
  • Crafted in the mountains of Utah

About C. Louis S.

A family man, Christian, inventor, and writer, I served for two years as a missionary in Chile. By day I’m a software engineer. At home I’m a husband and father of four in Utah, and in my free time I’m a writer.

My wife and I like to exercise and garden together, and our kids are into anything from dinosaurs, robots, and Legos to gymnastics, princesses, and board games.

Download a free full-color comic from me: To Catch A Fire Jelly

5 fun facts:

  • The movie Karate Kid inspired most of my childhood and I still love it today
  • I didn’t realize my name was close to C. S. Lewis until I was almost 30
  • My favorite video game series is Metroid and I started with the first one back on the NES
  • I made my little brother dive in a freezing pond for a stick when I was like 7. I still regret it.
  • My wife is from Venezuela and so we both speak Spanish

--

--

C. Louis S.
C. Louis S.

Father of 6, Inventor of Plottr, Author of Pizza Planet