Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #4 (Unity/C#)

A daily log of how I program a basic Unity/C# game: “The Escape”!

Mina Pêcheux
.Net Programming
Published in
4 min readDec 16, 2021

--

⬅️ Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #3 | TOC | Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #5 ➡️

For a few days, now, I’ve been posting my gamedev log on a small Unity/C# game: The Escape.

Day #1 and day #2 were more about core features, while day #3 focused on improving the visuals with custom 3D models. This time, let’s see how to populate the level with more objects and add a bit more style with a post-processing shader…

Project rules:

  1. I post a new gamedev log every day with a new demo video
  2. I work 1 hour max per day on this project
  3. I need to have a new visual feature by the end of this 1 hour (it can’t be just bug fix and refactors)

Day #4: Adding lasers & coins, plus a “pixelate” shader

Features & demo

Today, I’ve worked on two unrelated things:

  1. first, I added objects to the level: as the player moves through the endlessly spawning walls, she’ll sometimes encounter either lasers or coins
  • lasers are obstacles that lower your health if you hit them; they block doors…

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
.Net Programming

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)