Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #5 (Unity/C#)

A daily log of how I program a basic Unity/C# game: “The Escape”!

Mina Pêcheux
.Net Programming
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021

--

⬅️ Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #4 | TOC | Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #6 ➡️

This week, I’ve started to post my gamedev log on a small Unity/C# game: The Escape.

So far, I’ve prepared most of the basic endless runner game mechanics: we have walls that keep on spawning, we can move around to avoid them and increase our score, and finally we have lasers and coins that pop randomly from time to time.

Today, let’s work on the RPG component of the game: the store! This little “garage” is where we’ll spend the coins we pick up to upgrade our spaceship.

Project rules:

  1. I post a new gamedev log every day with a new demo video
  2. I work 1 hour max per day on this project
  3. I need to have a new visual feature by the end of this 1 hour (it can’t be just bug fix and refactors)

Day #5: Creating the store

Features & demo

The players will be able to access the store whenever they end a run (when the hit the game over). Then:

  • if the player has enough coins, she can buy armour or speed

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
.Net Programming

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)