Making a RTS game #19: Displaying our in-game settings! (Unity/C#)

Today, we’re finally going to create our in-game settings panel! :)

Mina Pêcheux
.Net Programming
Published in
15 min readJul 15, 2021

--

⬅️ Tutorial #18: Preparing our game parameters| TOC | Tutorial #20: Saving the player’s data properly ➡️

📕 Get the ebook and bonus material on Gumroad!
🚀 Find the code of this tutorial series on my Github!

The last episode has been about preparing and refactoring stuff so that we can display our game parameters neatly in the UI. The goal is to allow players to modify those settings in-game, rather than only giving the developers and game designers access to it. Also, we’ll make sure that we have a good control over our audio channels via the use of audio mixers.

Alright — we’re long overdue for a bit of UI ;)

Note: just like in the previous tutorials about UI, I won’t go into the details of all my UI elements because the style of your game should remain personal. I’ll simply explain my overall hierarchy and mention the important elements that I’ll use in my scripts.

Preparing our game settings UI panel and toggling it

Let’s start working on our game settings panel! We’ll just be crudely placing some elements…

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
.Net Programming

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)