(chill)

CTypeMag
c-Type
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2017

--

Say something about yourself?
I’m Donna Chiu, a Singaporean photographer originated from Hong Kong. I started photography in 2012, started with Street and have also done projects on other topics. My work has mainly been exhibited locally in Singapore, including in group exhibitions with a local collective 5iveFootWay as well as in the Singapore International Photography Festival last year.
My work can be found in my website www.donnachiu.com

What is this project?
I started this project in 2012, during a trip to my homeland. When I was there, I had a strong sense that the places I know and familiar with have become unfamiliar. There is a strong sense of alienation and I’ve made images to capture that feeling.

What message do you want to convey to the audience?
The project is mainly about the feeling of alienation. As we progress in our lives, I guess there are more encounters, with places, with people, which are supposed to be close and intimate, but turned out to be cold and detached. It’s very sad but it’s a reality we have to face.

Any news update? Exhibition, book, new project, life, etc?
I’m currently working on a project about anxiety, commissioned by a local counselling centre. This project is also under the IPA Mentorship Programme.

Donna Chiu (b. 1969, Hong Kong/Singapore) moved to Singapore twenty years ago. It was then when she picked up the camera for the first time. Initially photography started as a medium to preserve a fleeting moment in time. As for self-expression, the camera allowed her to connect to the world and convey her thoughts and ideas through pictures.

Chiu is a member of a local photography collective 5iveFootWay, and was selected as a featured photographer in a local photography project +50 by Platform. Her work has been exhibited and published in Singapore.
(Bio by SIPF)

http://www.donnachiu.com

--

--