Chiangkong Neighbourhood

CTypeMag
c-Type
Published in
4 min readSep 8, 2017

Say something about yourself?
Hi, my name is Nustarpon Jaruwahcharapon (Frey), 28 years old, raised and born in Bangkok, Thailand. I’m a freelance photographer who love travelling as well as shooting analogue photos. I have my own film laboratory for developing, processing, and printing my work. The aesthetic of film is what I love the most. On top of that, listening to music and going to concert avenue is another thing that I’m passionate about.

What is this series?
It’s a series of photographs called Chiangkong Neighborhood where I document the lives of people who reside in Chiangkong, Yaowarat (China Town). Through these photographs, I want to present people’s way of life which I believe there’s some unique elements within this neighbourhood.

How/When did you start this series?
Chiangkong Neighborhood has been developed during the time I started my own dark room under this area. Since I never grew up here, I felt something very unique and remarkable from the very first time I step into this neighbourhood. Along the way, I find myself becoming more and more familiar with people and their way of life. So I started to observe and capture what I see since then.

What message do you want to tell the audience ?
What I show is a series of everyday life situation, while other details are left to the imagination of the audience. It’s up to them to freely interpret the message behind it. For me, I’m getting close to the people in this area more and more through my lens. I’m able to capture true spirit of the people, and somehow connect with them.

Any news or updates?
These photographs would be collected into my photozine. Personally, I prefer looking at photo printed on actual (photographic) paper rather than on monitor. I feel like they’re tangible and perceivable by the sense of touch in real life. For the next projects, I’ll continue documenting people’s lives in this area. It would be in more private space, including photographs inside their houses, in order to see how they really live.

Nustarpon Jaruwahcharapon, born on December 1988, now works as a freelance photographer. Also, I have a strong interest toward music. Currently, I have my own small & cozy film laboratory called LABYRINTH film l music. In the past, I’ve conducted 3 photography exhibitions so far; two collaborating exhibitions and another one of my own. Back in 2015, I was selected as one of the finalist for Miami Street Photography. My favourite style is Invisible Photography. Most of the time, I would be a photographer for the wedding, be a concert photographer for HAVE YOU HEARD? (concert promoter). And for the upcoming project, I’ll have my own photozine launched soon.

https://facebook.com/labyrinthfilmlmusic

--

--