NIGHTCRAWLER

CTypeMag
c-Type
Published in
4 min readSep 8, 2019

Say something about yourself?

My name is Kanrapee Chokpaiboon a member of Street Photo Thailand and a newest member of Burn my Eye. I am currently based in Bangkok, Thailand. love sci-fi movies, and out space geek

What is this series?

Night Crawler is a series I created during my road trip around Southern islands of New Zeland. At first, I couldn’t come up with a way to shoot NZ. Being surrounded by nature for a full 15 days is something I never thought I would do because it’s ‘not my thing.’ While I try so hard to come up with a solution something told me to just let go. Then it came to me that this project should be an experimental piece. Just like me, who’s experiment this new surroundings.

When I got back home, I printed pictures and splashed water colors on them. I printed some of them on top of the other then scan them. The process to me is like watching a sci-fi movie that I wrote myself.

What do you want to tell the audience about this work?

I want the audience to really be open about this project. I want them to appreciate the visual side of it more than a statement. I want them to feel them as freely as me while making it.

I hope that the viewers, through their diversity, their own sensibilities and their memories, can create their own interpretations and discover their own meanings.

Any news or updates?

This project will come out as a photo zine. They will be available online and at Bangkok Art Book Fair. Also I have another long term project in Thailand and an exhibition early next year.

Kanrapee Chokpaiboon, born in 1990 and raised in Chiang Mai. Early of his works have been known as street photography which are full of humors and clever ideas. Journeyed to New York in 2015, Kanrapee got a chance to learn and work for various renowned photographers that influenced him for shaping his style to be unique and outstanding. The style is defined by his drama of the reality, his sense of fashion and the ability to capture of humor, against the symbolic, high contrast, giving the feel of cool, quirkiness, realistic surrealism effect, forming the new futuristic, documentary-street photography.

He is now a member of Burn My Eye and Street Photo Thailand collective. His work has been exhibited in various countries include the US, Belgium, the UK and South Korea. His latest solo exhibition, Little Green Man was held in Bangkok, Thailand in 2018.

https://www.kanrapee.com

--

--