The Drowning River

CTypeMag
c-Type
Published in
5 min readOct 26, 2018

Say something about yourself?

My name is Sutphuphai Wangpooklang, Born in 1995. I graduated from the Photography Department, Faculty of Fine Art, Chiangmai University. My fascination in photography began when grade 10, documentary photography that was. It was challenging to me because of taking time to pursue an issue to convey. Since then I began to improve myself gradually and near the end of grade 12, I had got a chance to take photograph for a news agency. At that time there was a big protest where I met leading photographers of Thailand. Certainly I did not miss the opportunity to learn and gather experiences as much as possible during that period.

Within 6 months of taking photographs of people protesting I had improved myself a lot when I realized more perspective of photography. I learned that I grew up by using photography to tell a story frankly for instance; news and documentary photography. I also found that there was another world where photography can be used to tell a story indirectly. This was excited to me greatly which may be called Contemporary Photography. So I gradually changed my patterns and forms as well as the issues different from the former ones. This collection thus includes my new work which I learned and challenged myself to create new style. I found that it was very excited to learn and work in a new way, try new things by myself. So that I would improve my perspective and skill.

What is this series?

Rock-blasting along Mekong river between Thai and Laos borders stated from China ambitious plan to open the new silk road in 2015. By getting ride of the rock along Mekong, it allow big cargo ship from China to spread their goods to Southeast Asia. However such big ambitious plan come with great consequence on local residents such as destruction of agriculture along the river banks due to unpredictable water raising, decreasing number of bird local birds due to the blasting rock which the bird nested, destruction of river shore which help to control the river. All of these consequences also led to the end of local sailing.

By blasting the rock or islets along Mekong, it also speeds up the river flow, and led to erosion. The erosion affect local resident in Thailand’s Chiang Saen, Chiang Khong, and Wiang Kaen Districts.

The China project on blasting Mekong to pave the way for big cargo also prohibit any activities that would obstruct cargo boats. The activity includes fishing by nets, and this restriction have a huge impact on local resident who rely on fishing. Therefore, I think that by blasting Mekong to open the way for bigger cargo boats, only China would get the profit and left local resident with environment destruction which isn’t worth at all.

How/When did you start this series?

I started working this series in 2017, my 3rd year at CMU. Normally, I’m interested in environment and river issues, so that is the beginning of this series.

What message do you want to tell the audience?

I want to portray the impact from Rock-blasting on Mekong river by photographing the disappearance of life of local residents, the relationship of local residents and the river in both Thailand and Lao. I believe this livelihood is fascinating and beautiful, so I want to photograph this simple life along the river.

Any news or updates? Exhibition, book, life?

You can follow me on my Instagram or Facebook. And I plan to combine the Mekong River series to make the photobook soon.

Sutphuphai Wangpooklang

Born in 1995, graduated in the Photography Department, Faculty of Fine Art, Chiangmai University. Taking photographs for 8 years. He’s interested in environmental issues, latterly contemporary photography is his fascination. Sutphuphai enjoys and wants to create more new work about this.

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/sutphuphai
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/horohoronik

--

--