THE L_ST ALBUM

CTypeMag
c-Type
Published in
4 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Say something about yourself?

I am currently a graphic designer and independent artist, who once aspired to be an architect as it is my dream job, but fell through to grasp it back when I was a student. Besides from working as a design director at THE UNI_FORM Design Studio, I also lecture at Bangkok University occasionally. Anyhow, I still enjoy my work and will keep producing more artworks in my own pace.

What is this series?

THE L_ST ALBUM is a project that sprung from my love of exploring secondhand markets, flea markets and night markets; where I often purchase fascinating mementos of unknown people. Likewise, photo albums that may have been lost and forgotten in houses while moving, there by being obtained by merchant scavengers to be sold in secondhand markets. These collections were revived through conveying about relationships of different individuals in the society, commonly known to be the smallest unit categorized as “family”.

How/When did you start this series?

This series began spontaneously mid last year (2019) when I was working on our studio’s annual book project known as THE UNI_VERSE. THE UNI_VERSE is a renowned Thai magazine published yearly with a specified theme. Last year, under the theme “Local Local,” I interpreted the matter in relevant to characteristics that are native and inherent within the Thai cultures, and one of the spots that best reflect the locality of our neighborhood is simply the Black Market. It was there where I found compilation of photo albums of strangers that I started treasuring. Accordingly, these collections of photos were later the main component in this project.

What do you want to tell the audience about this work?

This project merely triggers the question, “how would you describe the existing state of relationship with your family and loved ones as of today?”

Any news or updates?

I will be hosting my solo exhibition at SŌKO Gallery, Bangkok this coming October presenting ‘THE L_ST ALBUM’ project. Alongside that, I am also working on a photobook of this project for the 89Books, a photobook publishing house in Palermo, Italy.

Pariwat began his career as a designer when he was a third-year undergraduate, persuaded by Mr. Santi Lawrachawee, Designing Director of Practical Design Studio. Initially starting his career at Practical Design Studio right off graduation, he later resigned to manage his family business at Ratchaburi. At the time being, he was a part-time designer, acting upon behalf of Case, Inc., an independent group, while co-founding a small publishing house with his friends called Unfinished Project Publishing, and continuously producing outputs of artworks. He had exhibited his work at Art’PsodieGallery, France; ArtWithAmbition, the Netherlands; L’USINE, Vietnam; InbeArtSpace, Japan, Alliance Française de Bangkok and ArtGorillas ArtGallery, Thailand.

www.pariwatstudio.com
IG: big_pariwat

--

--