Until We Meet

CTypeMag
c-Type
Published in
4 min readJun 18, 2017

Say something about yourself
I’m a Singaporean photographer who loves to shoot urban environments, and when I travel, I like to take the opportunity to shoot these overseas locales in my own way, and sometimes creating unexpected results due to the differences in scenery.

What is this series?
Until We Meet recounts a reflective and serendipitous journey across the lands of Italy, looking into the more stoic and poignant spaces that I encountered while exploring off the beaten tracks. The series is split into 2 sections: the first part “Red” looks at the urban faces while the second part “Blue” looks at the natural edges.

How/When did you start this series?
Until We Meet was shot over 3 weeks in 2014, across the major cities of Italy, such as Rome, Florence, Venice, etc. The set of photos were then curated back in Singapore with some input from Ox Lee from Invisible Photographer Asia.

What message do you want to tell the audience?
I hope that the audience viewing this series will be taken on a journey of Italy with me, seeing into a window of a different and quieter side of Italy. The country is not just about museums, sculptures, and monuments.

Any your news update? exhibition, book, life?
While I’m working on several other series, I don’t think they’re ready to be mentioned yet. However, I have just finished working on a collaborative zine called Various Small Failures, with a group of friends. It can be ordered here. http://varioussmallfailures.bigcartel.com

Tham Jing Wen is a photographer who lives in Singapore. He loves to explore the complexity of urban environments and capture what is seemingly mundane but yet interesting at the same time. His work has been featured on Pool Resources, Der Greif, Invisible Photographer Asia, and Platform SG +50.

http://www.thamjingwen.com

--

--