Q&A with Jamal Robinson

Matthew Robinson
The C3 at Indiana Tech
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

This week I spoke to Jamal Robinson — a Fort Wayne native and successful entrepreneur. Jamal founded DESIAR, a handmade eyewear company, in his college dorm room. Since those humble beginnings, his company has integrated unique design through the use of innovative materials. Apart from founding a successful business, Jamal started Believe In A Dream, a nonprofit designed to empower Fort Wayne’s youth through entrepreneurship and arts by creating hands on learning experiences.

Recently I had the opportunity to ask Jamal a few questions:

Is there anyone who has been an inspiration to you?

My parents (Earl and Dr. Audrey Frison-Robinson) have been my greatest inspiration. The older I get the more I appreciate them and look to them for support in all areas of my life.

What is your greatest accomplishment thus far in your career?

Starting DESIAR and non-profit organization, Believe In A Dream, Inc. I’ve learned and experienced more than I could have ever imaged with these two organizations. DESIAR opened my eyes to business and all of the aspects of running a business. Believe In A Dream opened my eyes to the non-profit world. Both have been challenging in their own right and I’m happy to have the partners, a board, and advisors in both organizations that have walked with me in the journey.

What is one piece of advice you could give upcoming entrepreneurs and college students?

“Believe In A Dream”. That phrase is something I truly believe. No matter what stage in life you’re in; there’s always possibilities. I believe our human nature can limit what’s possible and it’s happened to me so I get it, but ‘believing in a dream’ allows me to take action. A dream is something unseen by others, only you have the ability to make that dream a reality. That is a gift and something I believe we all have inside of us. It may not be to start a company but to be a great family member, husband/wife, student, etc. never let go the thought of possibility.

The biggest take away from my conversation with Jamal was how adamant he was in believing in his dream. At the Center for Creative Collaboration at Indiana Tech we truly relate and appreciate the possibilities that come with your dreams. Through our Speaker Series initiative and coaching program (with Start Fort Wayne and the amazing Steve Franks), we have developed relationships with dozens of local organizations and entrepreneurs in an effort to bring real life learning experiences to our students.

Follow us on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter or email us at c3@indianatech.edu for more information.

--

--

Matthew Robinson
The C3 at Indiana Tech

South African, living in Fort Wayne Indiana, Indiana Tech #13⚽️