Imperfect Produce Box Review

Alyssia Mochizuki
c3wellness
Published in
4 min readJan 2, 2019

Finally it came! Because of holiday travel, I had to postpone getting my first box until today. I was so excited to receive it and see what all the hype was about that I have been driving my husband insane reminding him how many more days until I got my box!

I only hoped that it wasn’t going to be too good to be true.

Let me back up a bit. When I first moved into my building about two months ago from Tokyo, I noticed about six of these boxes sitting in the mail room. The design on the box was instantly appealing to me as I LOVE cooking and am especially passionate about eating healthy.

I immediately looked up the company online and read that they were a San Francisco based startup. I was a little disappointed as I had visions of going to the farmer’s market weekly or at least buying local. Getting this produce box would prevent that. However, I loved the idea of getting a fairly large amount of organic produce for cheap. And, I would get to ‘save’ all that unwanted ugly produce from going to waste. I would also be able to customize my box to be sure I would be able to use everything. Why has no one thought of this sooner?

But my husband and I decided to add Amazon Fresh to our Prime membership as we do not have a car, so to be economical I felt I would have to let the idea of this box go to rest. It was always in the back of my mind though.

I began to see other blog posts about Imperfect Produce (all with rave reviews) and even saw a news article (or two) about the company and several Facebook and Instagram advertisements. After signing up just to see what the prices might look like and how easy it really was (great prices, extremely easy), I finally got up the determination to order a box.

I finally put my first order through, but canceled that first box as we would not be in town. I would have to wait until the following Thursday to customize my box. They sent me a reminder by email and I was surprised about all the options to choose! They had a great selection of organic and non-organic fruits, vegetables, herbs, and more. I even thought about getting the Large box instead of the medium so I could order more, but I held back. They also tell you what the imperfection each fruit or vegetable has so you know exactly what you’re getting. I ended up with a medium box costing $22.

They deliver to my area of Seattle on Tuesdays, so now I just had to wait until Tuesday!

Above is now the produce looked inside the box. I was a little worried as it seems it was all thrown in there, but actually it was very clearly handled with care! I was immediately happy and thought ‘wow, all the colors together look so beautiful — and so yummy!’

Here is what all the produce looked like separated out on my oven. I feel that for $22, I was able to get a HUGE amount of organic produce! Fantastic! And, none of it looks ugly! sure, the mandarins are small, the sweet potatoes are a little odd shared, but overall it looks wonderful! Now would it taste as amazing as I was hoping?

Today I made Japanese style beef stew with the onion, potatoes, carrots, and broccoli I received in the box. Let me tell you… it was AMAZING! Both my husband and I ate way too much because it was just SO flavorful! Will I be continuing my weekly subscription box to Imperfect Produce? You bet! I might even be getting a larger box next time! They have small, medium and large boxes with organic and conventional options. You all also choose just fruit or just vegetables if you would like. I highly recommend this company for anyone looking to save a little money and eat great produce!

--

--