A Notable Tradition in My Family

Naichiao Hsu
CA-G5 Journal
Published in
1 min readOct 23, 2019

My family always leaves a seat with a set of bowl and chopsticks for who cannot make the reunion dinner on the new year’s eve. I believe it’s my father who started this tradition. He’d mentioned several times that when he was a child, my grandmother would hold her bowl in hands and rushed to join the neighbor’s tv watching every night. The rest of the family also rarely sat around the table to have dinner together. It’s always been one of the most significant regrets in his mind all the time so, when it was time for him to form his own family, he started a tradition of his own: a family should always eat dinner together. Since the first day I can remember, this has been a common sense in my family, and we will even prepare a set of dinnerware on a seat that belongs to who cannot make the reunion feast on select days. I believe my siblings and I will carry this tradition on to our own family someday as well.

--

--