A Perspective of Cemeteries

Emma Wang王新語
CA-G5 Journal

--

I remember seeing a piece of news that was about a foreigner who got to a traditional Chinese cemetery in Taiwan. He saw a grave, which was built like a Chinese throne, so he sat on it to take a photo. Seeing this news also let me think of an experience of mine. When I went to a summer camp in the US, I lived in a host family. My host family was in a country county in Oregon. When I arrived for the first time, I was amazed by the house. It had a very big front yard, and I can also see a large back yard behind it. After a few days, I finally got a chance to go around the house with my sisters. We walked to the back yard, which I thought it was, and I found that it wasn’t their back yard! It was a cemetery! I couldn’t believe I lived beside it because in my culture cemeteries are an unpleasant place that no one would live nearby it, but I could not believe such a peaceful place was a cemetery, neither. So, my feeling about there was wired. Before I knew the place was a cemetery, I had liked the view a lot and enjoy living next to it, like a park. After I knew the truth, I couldn’t enjoy the view anymore, but I tried to change my perspective of cemeteries because they are just other normal places. I got used to it some days later. For the rest of the days that I stayed there, I would have a short walk around there and enjoyed the feeling of peace from the cemetery. I think sometimes our perspective isn’t right because of unrealizing, but when we realize reasons or things, it will be easy to change our perspective and get used to it.

--

--