A Time That My Perspective Was Changed

Jerryjoejack
CA-G5 Journal
2 min readNov 21, 2019

--

It is difficult for people to accept new ideas, not because new ideas are too complicated, but because they are inconsistent with old ideas. We tend to protect our decision when two conflicting ideas appear in our mind at the same time.
Once my friend asked me a question that made me think for a long time. He asked me which one I supported to, to get married or not to get married. In the beginning, my idea was to hold a very traditional wedding and got married because I thought that a complete life must have to get married and have children. Therefore, I thought he was crazy that idea was too deviant to be accepted by anyone. However, he told me that If you wanted a normal family and didn’t need to rely on a paper marriage contract, your heart is the most important. Marriage is not as important as love. Love and marriage are two different things. You only need to enjoy love when you are in love, but marriage requires two people to take more responsibility. After that, I change my mind that maybe I should listen to my heart instead of following the traditional values ​​of society. Marriage is not the only way to achieve happiness. It is only a life choice, I should not force others to accept my values, especially the person I love.

--

--