An Interesting Tradition in My Family

Annie Chien
CA-G5 Journal
Published in
1 min readOct 24, 2019

My family has a tradition of gambling in the Chinese New Year. Many relatives and I go back to the country of my grandmother’s home in order to celebrate the New Year. Our village has any kind of gambling, not a lot of money gambling, but a game that lets everyone and feel together, such as playing Mahjong, buy a lottery, buy a scratch-off lottery ticket. Above them, Mahjong is a gamble that I think the most representative of Chinese culture. It is not only capable of mental training, but also a way to exchange feelings with family members once a year. Also, lotteries and scratch-off lottery tickets, and our family will make a joint venture with the family to scrape the prize together. Although there is no big prize, these memories are very representative of traditional culture.

--

--