Does Your Family Have Any Unique Tradition?

Harry Chang
CA-G5 Journal
Published in
1 min readOct 24, 2019

In my family, we have three unique traditions. First, my aunt makes “Buddha Jumps Over the Wall” every year when the Chinese New Year comes. It is my favorite dish on New Year’s Eve. There are a lot of rare ingredients in it, for example, shark fin, abalone, and sea cucumber. Enjoying this glorious food on the last day of the year. Second, when I was a child, my father liked to take my sister and me hiking on the weekends. I looked forward to hiking every weekend. By embracing nature, I can get not only breathing phytoncide but also knowing plants and animals. Last, reciting poetry, I won’t forget this tradition in the future and I will ask my child to do it. I started to go to school by bus when I was seven years old. My father read poetry to us and asked us to memorize them. This helped me a lot when I got into junior high school. I think every family has their own unique traditions. Maybe you can tell me your unique tradition next time.

--

--