Why Do You Think It’s Important to Learn About Other Cultures?

Meigo Wang
CA-G5 Journal
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2019

Culture is an amazing thing. It can affect others’ behaviors and thoughts. As a result, we should learn about other cultures to avoid causing tension and conflict. Sometimes, we want to show our goodwill, but perhaps it may seem offensive in other cultures. Let me make an example of my own experience.

I have been to Korea as an exchange student in 2017. When I first met my Korean friends, after we finished greeting, they immediately asked my age. It’s kind of weird because we normally won’t ask a person’s age at the first time you meet people. Besides, it may also consider as an impolite behavior in Taiwan, especially when you ask a female. After that, I asked my Korean teacher about this. She said the reason was that a Korean will speak honorific, which is a way that you speak more formal and respectful to someone elder than him or her. In contrast, if you are younger than him or her, they speak semi-language, which is easier and relax.

What I would like to tell is I feel a little bit being offended when they asked me, but after I knew their culture, I understood and won’t be uncomfortable about it next time. Above all, that’s the reason why it’s important to learn about other cultures.

the difference between honorific and semi-language in Korean@

--

--